Journalism & Media Studies: Scholarship and Sources

Websites and Databases for Media History

 

Media Content

 

http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/  Resources A-Z databases at UWM:

 

ABI/Inform Complete (business publications including the Wall Street Journal)

Accessible Archives (selected nineteenth- and twentieth-century newspapers)

African American Music Reference

Alternative Press Index (critical writing and alternative media such as Adbusters)

American History in Video (documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, etc.)

American Periodical Series (magazines, newspapers, etc. prior to 1940)

AP NewsMonitor (wire service stories from recent months)

BadgerLink (Wisconsin publications)

BizJournals.com

Black Literature Index (fiction, poetry, etc. from 1827 to 1940)

Black Studies Center (historical newspapers, recent periodicals, etc.)

Black Studies in Video (documentaries, newsreels, etc.)

Business Source Premier (academic journals, trade publications, etc.)

Business Journal (Milwaukee and other cities)

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

Catholic Periodical and Literature

Chicago Defender (1910-1975)

CQ Researcher Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (books)

Ethnic NewsWatch (journalism from 1959 to the present)

Filmmakers Library (documentaries)

Gale Virtual Reference Library (media celebrities and companies)

Gender Watch (scholarship and past media)

Gerritsen Collection (periodicals and books on the history of women’s rights)

HAPI (Hispanic periodicals)

Legal Periodicals and Books

LexisNexis Academic (legal materials, newspapers, magazines, etc. since the 1980s)

LexisNexis Primary Sources in American History (women, blacks, presidents, etc.)

March on Milwaukee: Civil Rights History Project (includes local media material)

Newspaper Archive (historical newspapers)

Newspaper Source Plus (major newspapers and broadcast transcripts)

Paper of Record (historical newspapers)

Proquest Historical Newspapers (Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post)

Readers’ Guide Full-Text Mega (magazines since 1983)

WebNews (international news)

Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site (state newspapers since 1994)

 

http://www.uwm.edu/Libraries/databases/trials/

New library databases available on a trial basis.

 

http://www.linkstothepast.com/milwaukee/mkenews.php

List of Milwaukee newspapers since 1833.

 

http://www.jsonline.com/

Milwaukee Journal and Milwaukee Sentinel newspapers (1884-2007) online (bottom right on site)

 

http://www.google.com/intl/en_us/about_google_news.html

Digitized, searchable newspapers from the past and present.  Some are pay-for-view.

 

http://www.periodicalresearch.org/  and

http://home.earthlink.net/~ellengarvey/rsapresource1.html

Online newspapers and magazines (especially non-mainstream ones) collected by the Research Society for American Periodicals

 

http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

Directory of American newspapers since 1690 and selected digitized newspapers from 1860 to 1922.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_online_newspaper_archives

http://icon.crl.edu/digitization.htm

http://www.researchguides.net/newspapers.htm

http://www.smalltownpapers.com/

http://www.newspapercat.org/ 

http://www.refdesk.com/paper.html 

Digitized newspapers in U.S. and other countries.

 

http://www.neh.gov/us-newspaper-program

Access to newspapers on microfilm.

 

http://www.time.com/time/magazine

Time magazine since 1923

 

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/vault/

Sports Illustrated back issues

 

http://mediahistoryproject.org/

Online trade and fan periodicals about film, radio, and sound from 1904 to 1973.

 

http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/serials.html

Links to many obscure, official, popular, and scholarly publications freely available online.

 

http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess

Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.  Main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

 

http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adviews/

Thousands of TV commercials from the 1950s to 1980s.

 

http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/eaa/

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920.

 

www.corbis.com

Millions of images from UPI, Bettmann Archive, etc. 

 

http://photoarchive.ap.org

Hundreds of thousands of news photos.

 

http://images.google.com/hosted/life

Photographs from Life magazine and elsewhere.

 

http://cartoonbank.com

Thousands of New Yorker cartoons.

 

https://cartoonimages.osu.edu/

Cartoon image database

 

www.qzap.org

Queer Zine Archive Project.

 

http://firstmention.com

Early media uses of terminology.

 

http://whitmanarchive.org/published/periodical/main/index.html

Walt Whitman’s journalism.

 

http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/

http://digital.library.cornell.edu/m/moa/

Online and searchable nineteenth-century books and periodical articles.

 

http://books.google.com/

http://www.hathitrust.org/

http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/

Digitized books including searchable full-text for ones no longer under copyright.

 

http://americanarchive.org/

American Archive of Public Broadcasting

 

Bibliography, Reference, and Scholarly Literature

 

http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/  Resources A-Z databases at UWM:

 

ABI/Inform (business)

Academic Search (general scholarship)

America: History and Life (U.S. History scholarship)

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Black Studies Center (scholarship and media)

Chicago Manual of Style (scholarly citation style)

Communication and Mass Media Complete (media scholarship)

CQ Researcher (analysis of issues in the news)

Dissertations and Theses (gradate student scholarship)

Eighteenth Century Collections (books)

Gilded Age (scholarship on topics from 1865 to 1902)

GoogleScholar (search for scholarship)

Historical Abstracts (search for scholarship)

Historical Statistics of the U.S.

History Reference Center (encyclopedias, books, documents, videos, photos)

Homeland Security Digital Library (U.S. policy documents)

Humanities Full Text (articles, broadcasts, interviews, reviews etc.)

Index to Jewish Periodicals

International Index to Black Periodicals

Library of Congress Online Catalog

MasterFILE Premiere (abstracts of articles, books, and documents)

Military and Government Collection

OmniFile Full-Text Mega (articles since 1994 in 3,000 publications)

Oxford African American Studies Center (articles, reference works, and documents)

Reference Universe (index to 50,000 reference works)

RefWorks (citation manager)

Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience

Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000

Women’s Studies International

WorldCat (comprehensive listing of books, articles, archival material, etc.)

 

http://mupfc.marshall.edu/~rabe/resources.htm

Mass media history bibliography in categories.

 

http://newcomm.library.wisc.edu

Annotated bibliography of new communication technologies.

 

http://www.historycooperative.org/

History Cooperative for searching articles.

 

http://www.humanitiesebook.org/

ACLS E-books in the Humanities.

 

http://proquest.com/brand/umi.shtml

Dissertations and research collections.

See also, UWM library database: Dissertations & Theses.

http://besthistorysites.net/

Best of History Web sites.

 

http://www.digital-librarian.com/

Librarian’s choice of best Web sites including oral history.

 

http://www.imdb.com/

www.allmovie.com

http://www.americanrhetoric.com/moviespeeches.htm

Movie databases.

 

www.allmusic.com

Reference guide to artists and albums.

 

http://www.popcultures.com/

Sources for the study of popular culture.

 

http://www.ijpc.org/

Image of the journalist in popular culture.

 

http://www.jstor.org/jstor/

Searchable archive of history journals and other scholarly periodicals in electronic format.

 

www.scholar.google.com

Scholarly literature.

 

www.abebooks.com

http://www.addall.com/

www.alibris.com

www.bibliofind.com

http://www.bookfinder.com/

http://www.labyrinthbooks.com/

http://www.vialibri.net/

http://www.overstock.com/

www.scholarsbookshelf.com

Sources for used and low-priced scholarly books.

 

http://www.unc.edu/~haman/haman3.htm

Minorities and media history.

 

http://www.sdst.org/shs/library/blackprimary.html

Sources for African American history.

 

www.oldtimeradio.com

http://www.otr.com/

Radio nostalgia with some useful links.

 

http://www.milwaukee-horror-hosts.com/frameset.html

Early television in Milwaukee.

 

http://www.tvguide.com/jumptheshark/

Television shows that are past their prime.

 

www.liketelevision.com

Classic TV shows and the history of TV and film.

 

Archives and Primary Sources

 

http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/  Resources A-Z databases at UWM:

 

Archival Resources in Wisconsin

American Mosaic (minority reference material and primary sources)

March on Milwaukee: Civil Rights History Project (includes local archival material)

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Histories

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974

UWM Photo Collection

UWM Yearbook Collection

Wisconsin Heritage Online
Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000

 

www.data.gov

Federal executive branch data including “Information and Communications.”

 

www.usa.gov

Federal government documents and links to state material.

 

http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/

Presidential documents, data, and speeches.

 

http://www.archives.gov/ogis/

Office of Government Information Services.

 

http://www.nara.gov/

National Archives and Records Administration documents.

 

http://www.loc.gov/

Library of Congress including archives, exhibits, documents, and American Memory project.

 

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lawhome.html

Congressional documents and debates, 1774-1875.

 

http://www2.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/index.html

National Security Archive (documents).

 

http://www.loc.gov/coll/nucmc/

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.

 

http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/

http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/libraryarchives/readroom/masscol.asp

Wisconsin Historical Society, an institution with extensive mass communication archives that ships materials to UWM’s library archive for student and faculty research.  Contact the UWM archive for more information: http://www4.uwm.edu/Libraries/arch/

 

http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/arch/

http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/special/

UWM archives and special collections.

 

http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/digilib/march/

Milwaukee Civil Rights.

 

http://wisconsinhistory.org/collections.asp

Wisconsin history materials online.

 

http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/wiarchives/

Wisconsin archival resources.

 

http://www.milwaukeecountyhistsoc.org/index.html

Milwaukee County Historical Society.

 

http://socialarchive.iath.virginia.edu/xtf/search

Social Networks and Archival Context Project (locations of manuscript collections).

 

www.americanantiquarian.org

American Antiquarian Society, a Worcester, Massachusetts, research library with extensive holdings of early American materials.

 

www.librarycompany.org

Philadelphia research library with extensive holdings of early American materials.

 

http://www.moma.org/

Film, video, and photography materials from the Museum of Modern Art.

 

http://www.emmytvlegends.org/

Oral history interviews with many leading television industry figures.

 

http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/

Archive of television news and special reports since 1968.  Much of the content is fee-based.

 

http://openvault.wgbh.org/

WGBH public broadcasting program archive.

 

http://www.c-spanvideo.org/videoLibrary/

Public affairs videos.

 

http://www.museum.tv/

Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago.  Program archives.  Encyclopedias.

 

www.mtr.org

Paley Center for Media (formerly the Museum of Television and Radio) in Beverly Hills and New York City.  Program archives.

 

http://www.movingimage.us/

Museum of the Moving Image (film, television, digital) in Astoria, New York.

 

http://www.lib.umd.edu/special/collections/massmedia/home

Library of American Broadcasting and National Public Broadcasting Archives

 

http://www.americanradiohistory.com/

TV and radio trade journals and documents

 

http://www.euscreen.eu/

European television.

 

http://www.archive.org/

Vast searchable collection of past Internet sites, movies, videos, radio and TV shows, TV news, TV commercials, public service announcements, recordings, and texts (WayBackMachine).

 

http://www.cinema.ucla.edu/

UCLA film and television archives.

 

http://www.oscars.org/mhl/

Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Beverly Hills.  Film industry archives.

 

http://docsouth.unc.edu/

Documenting the American South.

 

http://www.digital-librarian.com/oralhistory.html

Oral histories.

 

http://wpcf.org/interviewees/

Oral histories of women in journalism.

 

http://www.siliconvalleyhistorical.org/

Silicon Valley Historical Association

 

http://cartoons.osu.edu/about-us

Cartoon Library and Museum

 

Legal Research

 

http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/  Resources A-Z databases at UWM:

 

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books

Lexis-Nexis (laws, cases, reference, scholarship)

WestLaw (laws, cases, reference, scholarship)

 

http://www.oyez.org/

http://www.law.cornell.edu/

http://www.findlaw.com/casecode/

http://www.supremecourt.gov/

http://law.marquette.edu/law-library/research-links/wisconsin-legal-resources

Links to legal resources.

 

http://www.uscourts.gov/court_locator.aspx

Federal courts.

 

http://thomas.loc.gov/home/thomas.php

Congressional legislation.

 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode=CFR

Code of Federal Regulations.

 

http://www.fcc.gov/

Federal Communications Commission.

 

https://www.federalregister.gov/

Federal Register.

 

http://www.govengine.com/

Federal and state government sites.

 

http://www.law.cornell.edu/citation/

Legal citation guide.

 

https://www.legalbluebook.com/

Uniform Guide to Citation (Harvard’s Blue Book).

 

http://www.rcfp.org/

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press.

 

http://www.brbpub.com/free-public-records/

Public records.

 

Media Issues

 

http://www.journalism.org/

PEW’s Project for Excellence in Journalism.

 

http://journalistsresource.org/about

Journalist’s Resource.

 

http://shorensteincenter.org/research-publications/

Press, politics, and public policy.

 

http://benton.org/help/subscriptions

Media and telecommunications industry news.

 

http://dir.yahoo.com/news_and_media/journalism/organizations/

Journalism organizations.

 

http://dir.yahoo.com/news_and_media/journalism/citizen_journalism/

Citizen journalism.

 

http://www.ire.org/

Investigative Reporters and Editors.

 

Historians at Work

 

www.oah.org

Organization of American Historians.

 

http://www.aejmc.org/home/

Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), History Division.

 

http://www.aejmc.com/home/scholarship/convention-papers/

AEJMC convention papers.

 

http://ajhaonline.org/

American Journalism Historians Association.

 

http://www.ialjs.org/

International Association for Literary Journalism Studies.

 

http://www.iamhist.org/

International Association for Media and History.

 

http://www2.h-net.msu.edu/~oralhist/

H-Oralhist is a network of oral history scholars with links to archives and discussion lists.

 

http://www.oralhistory.org/

Oral History Association site includes principles and standards.

http://historymatters.gmu.edu/mse/oral/online.html

Oral history sites and guides.

 

http://www.h-net.msu.edu/

Humanities news and reviews.  History discussion groups including Jhistory.

 

http://chnm.gmu.edu/us/www.taf

Teaching tips and hundreds of history sites.

 

http://chnm.gmu.edu/

Center for History and New Media.

 

http://www.thebiographerscraft.com/

Biographical research.

 

http://www.historybuff.com/

Press coverage of events in American history.

 

Miscellaneous

 

https://www.cia.gov/index.html

World facts and leaders.

 

http://chnm.gmu.edu/digitalhistory/copyright/4.php

Dates when copyrighted works pass into the public domain.

 

http://www.pbs.org/mediashift/2013/06/helping-journalists-use-copyright-law

Guide for fair use of copyrighted material.

 

http://www.rtknet.org/

Environmental information.

 

www.ancestry.com

Family history.

 

http://www.familysearch.org/

The genealogical site of the Mormon church.

 

http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/census/

Historical census data.

 

http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/hiscendata.html

Historical census data.

 

http://www.census.gov/#

Current census data

 

http://eh.net/encyclopedia/

Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History.

 

http://eh.net/hmit/

Comparisons of past worth of a dollar to today’s value.

 

http://www.uwm.edu/Library/digilib/Milwaukee/index.html

Milwaukee neighborhood photos and maps.

 

http://www.milwaukeepressclub.org/about/

Milwaukee Press Club.

 

http://www.wisconsinbroadcastingmuseum.org/

Wisconsin Broadcasting Museum.

 

2/10/14