UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: HMONG 265 Hmong Americans: History, Culture, and Contemporary Life: Find Scholarly Articles AND Resources

HMONG 265 Resources

Hmong Studies via Ethnic NewsWatch
The Hmong Studies Journal is a unique and established peer-reviewed Internet-based academic publication devoted to the scholarly discussion of Hmong history, Hmong culture, Hmong people, and other facets of the Hmong experience in the U.S., Asia and around the world. The Hmong Studies Journal has published 23 volumes and 27 online issues since 1996. Over this time, the Hmong Studies Journal has established itself as the most authoritative and widely cited scholarly journal devoted to academic studies related to the Hmong diaspora and Hmong culture and history.
The Hmong Times via Ethnic NewsWatch
The Hmong Times Newspaper is a quality publication for the Hmong Community. Providing valuable information and tools to promote togetherness.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
CQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher gives reports providing analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news. Topics covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Includes citations and abstracts of all dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available since 1997. For more information and options, see our Theses & Dissertations Guide.
Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
Search@UW
Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW-Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.

The full list of databases by subject can be reviewed here:

Understand and Find Scholarly Sources (CLRT Module 2)

Watch the three videos: 1. What are scholarly sources?, 2. Characteristics of Scholarly Sources, and 3.First Search@UW search. Use the arrow commands below the media player to move on to the next video.