UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Public Health Policy: Law &amp; Policy Resources

Law, Legislation and Case Law (Primary Source)

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
The database indexes and provides full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).

HeinOnline
Offers extensive access to legal and government materials. Includes Federal Register, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Reports, state session laws, and more. Explore HeinOnline Subject Guides

Law Atlas : The Policy Surveillance Portal (Public Health Law Research; Robert Wood Johnson Foundation)
State Laws (FindLaw.com)
FindLaw's State Law collection includes summaries of state laws as well as citations or links to relevant sections of each state's official online statutes.
Guide to Law Online : U.S. States & Territories (Library of Congress)

Wisconsin Law & Legislation

Ordinances & Codes, Wisconsin Municipalities
City of Milwaukee Code of Ordinances
Municipal Codes Online
Ordinances and minutes for each state

Policy & Documents

Health (National Conference of State Legislatures)
Regularly updated; law & legislation relating to health topics at the state level.
State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Regularly updated; health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data.
State & Local Public Health: An Overview of Regulatory Authority
From the Public Health Law Center, William Mitchell College of Law.
State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations

Wisconsin Department of Health Services
Use the A-Z toolbar to jump to a specific topic, or a category such as "Data & Statistics".
State Health Plan for Wisconsin
Wisconsin Statutes section 250.07(1)(a) requires the Department of Health Services to produce a public health agenda (a state health plan) for the people of Wisconsin at least every 10 years. "Healthiest Wisconsin 2010", "Healthiest Wisconsin 2020: Everyone Living Better, Longer", and "Healthiest Wisconsin 2010: A Partnership Plan to Improve the Health of the Public" are available online.
Wisconsin Public Health Council
Purpose: To advise on progress in implementing the state’s 10-year public health plan and coordination of responses to public health emergencies.
Wisconsin Minority Populations and Health Reports
Statistical reports on the health of minority populations in Wisconsin.
Wisconsin Data & Statistics
Wisconsin Food Safety Consumer Information (DATCP)
Provided by the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.
Wisconsin Child Care Laws
WI Lobbying
The Wisconsin Ethics Commission's lobbying website.

Federal Government Policy Information

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS research divisions: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
CBO is strictly nonpartisan; conducts objective, impartial analysis; and hires its employees solely on the basis of professional competence without regard to political affiliation. CBO does not make policy recommendations, and each report and cost estimate summarizes the methodology underlying the analysis.
Current Bills in US Congress
From the official Congress website, maintained by the Library of Congress (LOC), you can search and browse for currently active legislation in both chambers of the US congress.
Congressional Record (LOC)
This Congressional Record available through the Library of Congress' (LOC) website for the US congress provides a browseable and searchable record for legislation and bills from congress.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
GAO, often called the "congressional watchdog,” is an independent, non-partisan agency that works for Congress. GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, non-partisan, fact-based information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.

The Office of the President
The White House website is the official policy and priority location for the US President.
U.S. Department of Commerce
Official website for the Department of commerce, a cabinet of the executive government.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Official website for the executive cabinet, Health and Human Services.
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Official Website of the US Department of Agriculture, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Department of Justice
Official Website of the US Department of Justice, a cabinet of the executive branch.
U.S. Department of Education
Official website of the United States Department of Education, a cabinet of the Executive Branch.
U.S. Department of Energy
Official website of the United States department of Energy, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Official website for the United States Environmental Protection Agency, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Official website for the United States department of Homeland Security, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Official website for the Department of Housing and Urban Development, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Department of Interior
Official Website for the United States Department of the Interior, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Department of Labor
Official website for the United States department of Labor, a cabinet of the Executive Branch.
U.S. Small Business Administration
Official website for the United States Small Business Administration, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. State Department
Official website for the United States department of State, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Department of Transportation
Official website of the United States department of Transportation, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Department of Treasury
Official website of the United States department of Treasury, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Trade Representative
Official website of the United States Trade Representative, a cabinet of the Executive branch.
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Official website of the United States department of Veterans Affairs, a cabinet of the Executive branch.

U.S. Supreme Court
Official Website of the United States Supreme Court, where you can find opinions, documents, and dockets.
U.S. Federal Courts
Official website for the United States court system where you can find records, statistics and reports, and rules and policies pertaining to the Federal Court system.
U.S. Federal Judicial Center
The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the judicial branch of the U.S. government.
United States Sentencing Commission
The U.S. Sentencing Commission, a bipartisan, independent agency located in the judicial branch of government, exists to reduce sentencing disparities and promote transparency and proportionality in sentencing. The Commission collects, analyzes, and distributes a broad array of information on federal sentencing practices. The Commission also continuously establishes and amends sentencing guidelines for the judicial branch and assists the other branches in developing effective and efficient crime policy.