Skip to Main Content

MLA Citation Guide (MLA 9th edition) CGS

Journal Articles

Journal articles from library databases
Works Cited List Citation

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Publication Date, pp. Page Numbers. Database Name, DOI, Permalink, or URL if given.

Note: If you are using a pdf version of the article, add the following at the end of your citation: PDF download.

Note: Sources like EbscoHost and ProQuest are database platforms and not database names. Please note the complete database name in your citation (e.g. EbscoHost Academic Search Complete, ProQuest Business One).


Examples:

One Author

Kieffer, Alexandra. “The Debussyist Ear: Listening, Representation, and French Musical Modernism.” 19th-Century Music, vol. 39, no. 1, summer 2015, pp. 56-79. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.1525/ncm.2015.39.1.56.

Luthin, Reinhard. H. "Abraham Lincoln and the Tariff." American Historical Review, vol. 49, no. 4, Jun1944, pp. 609-629. America: History & Life, https://ezproxy.lib.uwm.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,uid&db=ahl&AN=46893250&site=ehost-live&scope=site


Two Authors

Hauck, Pia, and Heiko Hecht. “Having a Drink with Tchaikovsky: The Crossmodal Influence of Background Music on the Taste of Beverages.” Multisensory Research, vol. 32, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 1–24. EbscoHost Academic Search Premierhttps://doi.org/10.1163/22134808-20181321.


Three or more authors

Meacham, Shuaib James, et al. “HipÔÇÉHop Early Literacy in K–1 Classrooms.” The Reading Teacher, vol. 73, no. 1, July/August 2019, pp. 29–37. Wiley Online Library Journalshttps://doi.org/10.1002/trtr.1809. PDF download.

In-Text Citation

(Last Name Page Number)

 

Examples: 

(Kieffer 59)

(Luthin 616)

(Hauck and Hecht 21)

(Meacham et al. 32)

Journal article from a website (with DOI)
Works Cited List Citation

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Publication Date, pp. Page Numbers if given. DOI link.

Note: If you are using a pdf version of the article, add the following at the end of your citation: PDF download.


Example:

Hauck, Pia, and Heiko Hecht. “Having a Drink with Tchaikovsky: The Crossmodal Influence of Background Music on the Taste of Beverages.” Multisensory Research, vol. 32, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 1–24. https://doi.org/10.1163/22134808-20181321. PDF download.

In-Text Citation

(Last Names Page Number)

 

Examples: 

(Hauck and Hecht 21)

Journal article from a website (no DOI)
Works Cited List Citation

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Publication Date, pp. Page Numbers if given. URL.


Example:

Narayanan, Nirupama, and Robin Sturtz. "Success in the STEM Curricula." College Quarterly, vol. 21, no. 2, 2018. collegequarterly.ca/2018-vol21-num02-spring/index.html

In-Text Citation

(Last Name Page Number if given)

 

Example: (Narayanan and Sturtz)

Journal article in print
Works Cited List Citation

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Publication Date, pp. Page Numbers.


Example:

Hauck, Pia, and Heiko Hecht. “Having a Drink with Tchaikovsky: The Crossmodal Influence of Background Music on the Taste of Beverages.” Multisensory Research, vol. 32, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 1–24. 

In-Text Citation

(Last Name Page Number)

 

Example: (Hauck and Hecht 21)

DOI Link for Journal Articles

Some electronic content such as journal articles are assigned a unique digital number called a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). The DOI is a standardized method for identifying an article. 

If a DOI link is provided for a journal article, include it after the page numbers of the article as a doi link - e.g.  https://doi.org/10.3138/jsp-2017-0017.

If a DOI link is not provided for a journal article and the article is from a library database, use the permanent link (or stable url) provided by the the journal database (i.e. and not the URL from the top of the page as this will time out and generally lead back to the main page of the database instead of the article).  If the journal article is being taken from an openly-accessible website, then you can copy the URL from the top of the page.