UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: History 436: Immigrant America Since 1880: Find Articles

Finding Scholarly Sources

Library Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.

Journals

Search within these scholarly journals showcasing research about immigration.

Journal of Ethnic American History
Presents research on the immigrant & ethnic history of the North American people; migration, adjustment & assimilation, group relations, politics, culture & group identity; for members of the Immigration History Society.
Journal of Asian American Studies
Journal of Asian American Studies (JAAS) explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues.
Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies
JEMS publishes research on all forms of migration and its consequences, including ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism and policies of integration.
Hmong studies journal
The Hmong Studies Journal is a unique and established peer-reviewed Internet-based academic publication devoted to the scholarly discussion of Hmong history, Hmong culture, Hmong people, and other facets of the Hmong experience in the U.S., Asia and around the world.
Cuban Studies
For over three decades, Cuban Studies has been the preeminent journal for scholarly work on Cuba. Published each winter, the volume features interdisciplinary articles on Cuba in both English and Spanish, a large book review section, and an exhaustive compilation of recent works in the field.
Chinese America, history and perspectives
Chinese America: History and Perspectives is a peer-review journal published by the Chinese Historical Society of America (CHSA). CHSA was established in 1963 and was the first society of its kind. Chinese America: History and Perspectives welcomes research on any and all aspects of Chinese American studies, Chinese American history, and Chinese in America. In addition, the journal welcomes oral histories, local community histories, and other historically related narratives.
Polish American studies
Polish American Studies is the Polish American Historical Association's interdisciplinary, double-blind refereed scholarly journal. The editors welcome scholarship including articles, edited documents, and related materials dealing with all aspects of the history and culture of Poles in the Western Hemisphere.