Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 3 simultaneous users for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.
Reference Materials on the Art and Culture of the Himalayan Region
The THL Tibetan Dictionary is created and maintained by a broad array of scholars rather than by professional editors, such that entries reflect a rich dialog on the meaning and history of terms. It allows for charting the historical usage of terms, as well as their contemporary spoken usage via recordings. It is in fact many dictionaries in one.
This companion presents new critical views on crucial aspects of the large and varied field of Asian art and architectural history. The essays collected here provide scholars and the public with an opportunity to engage with the field in all its diversity - from coinage to monastic spaces to imperial commissions and beyond. Regions and topics covered include Korea, Japan, China, several regions of Southeast Asia, South Asia, global and colonial interactions, as well as art and architecture in the UK and UK diaspora.
Historical Dictionary of Tibet, Second Edition contains a chronology, a glossary, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 500 cross-referenced entries on important personalities as well as aspects of the country's politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.
The product of twelve years of research and eight more of mapmaking, A Historical Atlas of Tibet documents cultural and religious sites across the Tibetan Plateau and its bordering regions from the Paleolithic and Neolithic times all the way up to today. It ranges through the five main periods in Tibetan history, offering introductory maps of each followed by details of western, central, and eastern regions. It beautifully visualizes the history of Tibetan Buddhism, tracing its spread throughout Asia, with thousands of temples mapped, both within Tibet and across North China and Mongolia, all the way to Beijing.
This groundbreaking book reveals the existence of an advanced civilization where none was known before, presenting an entirely new perspective on the culture and history of Tibet. Following clues in ancient texts most considered myth, John Vincent Bellezza treks to the highest reaches of the Tibetan plateau in search of an enigmatic ancient people known as Zhang Zhung. Tracing his epic journeys across lands few Westerners have seen, this book is a compelling window into the most inaccessible reaches of Tibet and a civilization that flourished long before Buddhism took root.
A magisterial history of the Himalaya: an epic story of peoples, cultures, and adventures among the world's highest mountains. For many years, the unique and astonishing geography of the Himalaya has attracted those in search of spiritual and literal elevation: pilgrims, adventurers, and mountaineers seeking to test themselves among the world's most spectacular and challenging peaks. But far from being wild and barren, the Himalaya has been home to an astonishing diversity of indigenous and local cultures, as well as a crossroads for trade, and a meeting point and conflict zone for the world's superpowers.
This essential student textbook covers all the religious traditions of Southwest Asia, Southeast Asia, Central Asia, Tibet, and East Asia. The major traditions that are described and discussed are (from the Southwest) Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, Sikhism and Islam, and (from the East) Taoism, Confucianism and Shinto. In addition, the tradition of Bon in Tibet, the shamanistic religions of Inner Asia, and general Chinese, Korean and Japanese religion are also given full coverage.
The Himalayas: An Encyclopedia of Geography, History, and Culture serves as a convenient and authoritative reference for anyone exploring the region and seeking to better understand the history, events, peoples, and geopolitical details of this unique area of the world. It explores the geography and details of the demographics, discusses relevant historical events, and addresses socioeconomic movements, political intrigues and controversies, and cultural details as to give an overarching impression of the region as a coherent and cohesive whole. Readers will come away with a vastly heightened understanding of the geographical region we recognize as the Himalayas, and grasp the issues of geography, history, and culture that are central to contemporary understandings of the human culture in the region.
Features a selection of publications in print published between 2002 and 2007 on prehistory and protohistory, historical archaeology, art history (from ancient to contemporary), material culture, epigraphy and palaeography, numismatics and sigillography. Covered are South Asia and culturally related regions of Afghanistan, South Uzbekistan, South Tajikistan and Tibet. The bibliographic descriptions (with the original diacritics), controlled keywords and elucidating annotations make this reference work into a reliable guide to recent scholarly work in the fields of the ABIA Index.