UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Architecture & Urban Planning: Find Scholarly Sources

Search in Search@UW

Find articles, UW books, digital collections & media

[Advanced Search]

Databases for Research in Architecture & Urban Planning

JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, published by the Getty Research Institute, is a comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 2,500 US and foreign journals. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
BuildingGreen
BuildingGreen is the leading online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
Knovel
Knovel is a collection of over 4500 handbooks, dictionaries and proceedings in technical disciplines. Full text is searchable by keywords and numeric property values. Contains interactive tables, graphs, and equations. Data from tables can be manipulated and further imported in an Excel spreadsheet.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes citations from the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, and the Derwent Innovation Index. Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. Useful For: systematic reviews, Highly Cited papers, citation metrics
Urban Studies Abstracts
The bibliographic records in Urban Studies Abstracts bibliographic records cover urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of urban studies.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains citations for articles from domestic and international journals, monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Select Journals in Architecture & Urban Planning

Architectural Design
Architectural Design (AD) is consistently at the forefront of cultural thought and design. Each title of AD is presented as a thematic volume edited by an invited guest-editor, who is an international expert in their field. Renowned for being at the leading edge of design and new technologies, AD also covers topics as diverse as: architectural history and theory, the environment, interior design, landscape architecture and urban design.
Building Research & Information
Building Research and Information (BRI) focuses on the entire life cycle of buildings, from inception to designing, engineering and making, through the building in use phase, to disassembly and recovery. Unique to BRI is a holistic and interdisciplinary approach to a sustainable built environment, centered on the building and its context.
Frontiers of Architectural Research
Frontiers of Architectural Research is an international journal that introduces and reviews significant and pioneering achievements in the field of architecture research. Subject areas include the primary branches of architecture, such as architectural design and theory, architectural science and technology, urban planning, landscaping architecture, existing building renovation, and architectural heritage conservation. The journal encourages studies based on a rigorous scientific approach and state-of-the-art technology.
International Journal of Urban and Regional Research
IJURR is at the forefront of urban and regional research. With a cutting edge approach to linking theoretical development and empirical research, and a consistent demand for quality, IJURR encompasses key material from an unparalleled range of critical, comparative and geographic perspectives. Embracing a multidisciplinary approach to the field, IJURR is essential reading for social scientists with a concern for the complex, changing roles and futures of cities and regions.
Journal of Architectural Historians
Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians is a leading English-language journal on the history of the built environment. Each issue offers four to five scholarly articles on topics from all periods of history and all parts of the world, reviews of recent books, exhibitions, films, and other media, as well as a variety of editorials and opinion pieces designed to place the discipline of architectural history within a larger intellectual context.
Journal of the American Planning Association
Since 1935, the quarterly Journal of the American Planning Association has published research, commentaries, and book reviews useful to practicing planners, scholars, students, policy makers, and others interested in the planning profession.
Journal of Urban Design
Advances theory, research and practice in urban design, a core factor in planning and architectural education, to improve urban environment quality.
Planning Practice and Research
Publishes research on different planning systems worldwide and on planning policy, practice and education on an international and comparative basis.
Planning Theory & Practice
Planning Theory & Practice provides an international focus for the development of theory and practice in spatial planning and a forum to promote the policy dimensions of space and place. Planning Theory & Practice aims to challenge theory and change practice and is distinctive in its commitment to publishing content which combines intellectual rigour with practical impact.

How to Search@UW

Select Architecture Books from the Collection

Integrating Innovation in Architecture: Design, methods and technology for progressive practice and research by Ajla Aksamija
ISBN: 9781119164807
Publication Date: 2016-12-27
Today’s design professionals are faced with challenges on all fronts. They need not only to keep in step with rapid technological changes and the current revolution in design and construction processes, but to lead the industry. This means actively seeking to innovate through design research, raising the bar in building performance and adopting advanced technologies in their practice. In a constant drive to improve design processes and services, how is it possible to implement innovations? And, moreover, to assimilate them in such a way that design, methods and technologies remain fully integrated?
Sustainable Design: A critical guide by David Bergman
ISBN: 1616892064
Publication Date: 2013-07-02
Written for students and practitioners in the fields of architecture and interior design, our new Architecture Brief Sustainable Design provides a concise overview of all the techniques available for reducing the energy footprint of structures and spaces. With clear, simple language and a practical "can-do" approach, author David Bergman covers everything from the profession's ethical responsibility, to design structures and spaces that sustain our natural resources, to specific considerations such as rainwater harvesting, graywater recycling, passive heating techniques, solar orientation, green roofs, wind energy, daylighting, indoor air quality, material evaluation and specification, and how to work with green building certification programs.
A Critical History of Contemporary Architecture: 1960-2010 by Elie G. Haddad (Editor); David Rifkind (Editor)
ISBN: 1472429389
Publication Date: 2014-03-26
This book provides a comprehensive, critical overview of the developments in architecture from 1960 to 2010. The first section provides a presentation of major movements in architecture after 1960, and the second, a geographic survey that covers a wide range of territories around the world. This book not only reflects the different perspectives of its various authors, but also charts a middle course between the 'aesthetic' histories that examine architecture solely in terms of its formal aspects, and the more 'ideological' histories that subject it to a critique that often skirts the discussion of its formal aspects.
Energy/People/Buildings : Making Sustainable Architecture Work by Judit Kimpian, Hattie Hartman and Sofie Pelsmakers
ISBN: 1859465870
Publication Date: 2021
Energy performance feedback is an essential tool in addressing the current climate crisis. This book is for anyone who wants to better understand how energy is used in buildings, and how to drive down operational energy use whether you're an architect, student, client, building services engineer, contractor, building operator or other stakeholder. Focusing on evidence from feedback on buildings in use, it explains what it takes to get them to perform as expected, as well as the reasons why they often fail.
Housing As Intervention by Karen Kubey (Guest Editor)
ISBN: 9781119337836
Publication Date: 2018-08-28
Touching on a range of socio-political issues embodied in housing, this issue catalogues promising approaches to housing in the context of growing economic disparities. By exploring innovations in housing - Modernism's central project -it examines architects' evolving role in addressing social inequalities.
Drawing: The Motive Force of Architecture by Peter Cook
ISBN: 9781118700617
Publication Date: 2014-05-28
Focusing on the creative and inventive significance of drawing for architecture, this book by one of its greatest proponents, Peter Cook, is an established classic. It exudes Cook's delight and catholic appetite for the architectural.
Architectural Regeneration by Aylin Orbasli (Editor); Marcel Vellinga (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119340379
Publication Date: 2020-08-03
A comprehensive and detailed overview of the active regeneration, rehabilitation and revitalisation of architectural heritage. s the need for culturally and environmentally sustainable design grows, the challenge for professionals involved in the management of inherited built environments is to respond to this ever-changing context in a critical, dynamic and creative way.
Designing Mind-Friendly Environments: What Autism and Neurodiversity Teach Us When Urban, Landscape and Building Designs are Commissioned by Steve Maslin; Zoe Mailloux (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781784504144
Publication Date: 2021-12-21
Exploring the impact of the built environment and design on people with a range of neurological experiences, including autism, dementia, dyslexia and dyspraxia, this comprehensive guide provides project commissioners, architects and designers with all the information and personal insight they need to design, create and build 'mind-friendly' environments for everyone. Assimilating knowledge from medical, therapeutic, social and educational spheres, and using sensory integration theory, the book explores the connection between our minds and our surroundings and considers the impact of the environment on the senses, well-being and neurodiverse needs of people. The book shows how design adaptations to lighting, acoustics, temperature, surfaces, furniture and space can positively benefit the lives of everyone across a range of environments including workplaces, retail, sport and leisure, domestic, educational institutions, cultural and civic spaces, outdoor spaces and places of worship.
The Sociology of Architecture: Constructing Identities by Paul Jones
ISBN: 184631593X
Publication Date: 2013-06-20
States have long been active in commissioning architecture, which affords one way to embed political projects within socially meaningful cultural forms. Such state-led architecture is often designed not only to house the activities of government, but also to reflect political-economic shifts and to chime with a variety of 'internal' and 'external' publics as part of wider discourses of belonging. From the vantage point of sociology, this context necessitates critical engagement with the role of leading architects' designs and discourses relative to politicized identity projects.Focusing on the mobilization of architecture in periods of social change, The Sociology of Architecture uses critical sociological frameworks to assess the distinctive force added to political projects by architects and their work.
Sustainable Preservation: Greening existing buildings by Jean Carroon; Richard Moe (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0470882158
Publication Date: 2011-02-15
Sustainable Preservation takes a nuanced look at the hundreds of choices that adaptive reuse requires architects to make--from ingenious ways to redeploy existing structural elements to time-honored techniques for natural ventilation to creation of wetlands that restore a site's natural biological functions. In addition, Sustainable Preservation presents 50 case studies of projects--schools, houses, offices, stores, museums, and government buildings--that set new standards for holistic approaches to adaptive reuse and sustainability. The author covers design issues, from building location to lighting systems, renewable power options, stormwater handling, and building envelope protection and integrity. The book also reviews operational issues, including materials choices for low lifetime maintenance, green housekeeping, and indoor air quality.
Professional Practice for Architects and Project Managers by David Chappell
ISBN: 1119540119
Publication Date: 2019-11-25
Explains construction professional practice in an appealing, succinct, and relatively informal way. This book details the management of construction projects from beginning to end, concentrating on the principles underlying what construction professionals like architects do. It covers the entire process--from the initial meetings with clients through the design, recruitment of a contractor, contract management, construction, and handover--all without referencing legal cases, contract clause numbers, laws, statutes, or the complex jargon that can muddle comprehension.
The Architecture of Disability: Buildings, Cities, and Landscapes Beyond Access by David Gissen
ISBN: 9781452968551
Publication Date: 2023-01-24
Disability critiques of architecture usually emphasize the need for modification and increased access, but The Architecture of Disability calls for a radical reorientation of this perspective by situating experiences of impairment as a new foundation for the built environment. With its provocative proposal for "the construction of disability," this book fundamentally reconsiders how we conceive of and experience disability in our world.
Building Black: Towards Antiracist Architecture by Elliot C. Mason
ISBN: 1685710298
Publication Date: 2022-05-19
Building Black, however, proposes the construction of a Black radical position: building islands of resistance against the expanding sea of imperial architecture. In Building Black, Mason reads the racial meaning of current construction projects in England through the histories of race and architecture. Closely reading Immanuel Kant's formulation of the Subject as the creator of space and the development of whiteness in Modernist architecture, Mason finds that Blackness is an ongoing, antecedent island that can never quite be subsumed in the racializing project of modernity. Pushing this further, he positions antiracist architecture on a self-enclosed island de-linked from the city, preserving a sociality that cannot be incorporated into liberal universality.

Urban Planning Books from the Collection

Urban Geography: A critical introduction by Andrew E. G. Jonas; Eugene McCann; Mary Thomas
ISBN: 1405189800
Publication Date: 2015-03-09
Urban Geography a comprehensive introduction to a variety of issues relating to contemporary urban geography, including patterns and processes of urbanization, urban development, urban planning, and life experiences in modern cities. Reveals both the diversity of ordinary urban geographies and the networks, flows and relations which increasingly connect cities and urban spaces at the global scale Uses the city as a lens for proposing and developing critical concepts which show how wider social processes, relations, and power structures are changing Considers the experiences, lives, practices, struggles, and words of ordinary urban residents and marginalized social groups rather than exclusively those of urban elites Shows readers how to develop critical perspectives on dominant neoliberal representations of the city and explore the great diversity of urban worlds.
Local Planning: Contemporary principles and practice by Gary Hack; International City/County Management Association Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780873261487
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
This new edition helps the reader understand the complexities of planning at the local level, and prepare to make decisions in a challenging environment. The eight chapters in Local Planning, roughly spanning from context to applications, consists of articles written by a wide range of experts academics, practitioners, clients, and observers of planning. Many examples of planning in action illustrate central principles.
Changing Places: The science and art of new urban planning by John MacDonald; Charles Branas; Robert Stokes
ISBN: 9780691195216
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
In Changing Places, MacDonald, Branas and Stokes argue that there is a widespread disconnect between those who implement place-based changes-such as planners and building or land developers-and the community of scientists who are now starting to rigorously evaluate these changes. They emphasize that planners and developers need to recognize the value of scientific testing and that scientists need to embrace the indispensable and action-oriented work of planners and land developers. Though there have been other calls for place-based research, the authors focus specifically on structural interventions that are scalable and sustainable. They draw on research from multiple fields-city planning, criminology, economics, epidemiology, public health, and more-to demonstrate that well-designed changes to place can significantly improve the health and safety of large groups of people.
Policy, Planning, and People: Promoting justice in urban development by Naomi Carmon (Editor); Susan S. Fainstein (Editor)
ISBN: 0812207963
Publication Date: 2013-05-31
The contributors of Policy, Planning, and People argue for the promotion of social equity and quality of life by designing and evaluating urban policies and plans.
Ecologically-Compatible Urban Planning: Designing a healthier environment by Stefano Salata
ISBN: 1789737850
Publication Date: 2019-10-18
Ecosystem service mapping is a fundamental part of developing healthier cities and ensuring environmentally-oriented land use. Ecologically-Compatible Urban Planning: Designing a Healthier Environmentdemonstrates that renewed collaboration between environmental scientists and urban planners is essential in reforming the traditional method of urban planning to meet the emerging issues posed by contemporary living in urban areas affected by climate change.
Emergent Urbanism: Urban planning & design in times of structural and systemic change by Tigran Haas; Krister Olsson
ISBN: 1317144848
Publication Date: 2016-04-29
Bringing together leading academics from across a range of disciplines, Emergent Urbanism identifies the specific issues dominating today's urban planning and urban design discourse, arguing that urban planning and design not only results from deliberate planning and design measures, but how these combine with infrastructure planning, and derive from economic, social and spatial processes of structural change. Combining explorations from urban planning, urban theory, human geography, sociology, urban design and architecture, the volume provides a comprehensive and state-of-the-art overview.
Concrete Cities: Why we need to build differently by Rob Imrie
ISBN: 9781529220544
Publication Date: 2021-10-26
This accessible critique of urban construction reimagines city development and life in an era of unprecedented building. Exploring the proliferation of building and construction, Imrie sets out its many degrading impacts on both people and the environment. Using examples from around the world, he illustrates how construction is motivated by economic and political ideologies rather than actual need, and calls for a more sensitive, humane and nature-focused culture of construction. This compelling book calls for radical changes to city living and environments by building less, but better.
Urban Development for the 21st Century: Managing resources and creating infrastructure by Kimberly Etingoff (Editor)
ISBN: 0429183801
Publication Date: 2015-07-29
Cities are at the forefront of the trend toward sustainable living, since they are the site of concentrated population, resource use, and greenhouse gas emissions, yet also have the tools and the resources to address climate change and environmental degradation. Part of the modern urban planner’s challenge is to impact individual behavior on a systemic, urban scale, since sustainable cities are made up of systems that encourage sustainable behavior.