Architecture & Urban Planning

Architects must be proficient in a variety of business practices to contribute to, manage, or launch a successful firm. They are responsible for the same kind of legal, financial, marketing, management, and administrative activities as any other professional. Within these broad categories, however, there are many details, including professional standards and documents, that are unique to the profession of architecture.

Learning a new discipline is similar to learning a new language; in order to master the foundation of architecture, you must first master the basic building blocks of its language the definitions, function, and usage. Language of Architecture provides students and professional architects with the basic elements of architectural design, divided into twenty-six easy-to-comprehend chapters.

Architectural Geometry is the first book to introduce a revolutionary new approach to design. Geometry lies at the core of the architectural design process. It is omnipresent, from the initial form-finding stages to the actual construction. Modern constructive geometry provides a variety of tools for the efficient design, analysis, and manufacture of complex shapes. This results in new challenges for architecture. However, the architectural application also poses new problems to geometry. Architectural geometry is therefore an entire research area, currently emerging at the border between applied geometry and architecture. Written for students, architects, construction engineers, and industrial designers – Architectural Geometry is a source of inspiration for scientists interested in applications of geometry processing in architecture and art.

Organized along a global timeline, A Global History of Architecture presents an innovative approach to the study of architectural history. Spanning from 3,500 B.C.E. to the present, this unique guide is written by an all-star team of architectural experts in their fields who emphasize the connections, contrasts, and influences of architectural movements throughout history. The architectural history of the world comes to life through a unified framework for interpreting and understanding architecture, supplemented by rich drawings from the renowned Frank Ching as well as brilliant photographs.

The leading text on architectural research, Architectural Research Methods, Second Edition is completely revised throughout to include current trends and innovations in research, and discusses interdisciplinary involvement with design/build, sustainability and policy, urban design, product design, and product systems. This practical guide for architects and designers employs real-life examples of how good research can be used, from project inception to completion. New coverage of design studio-based research shows how the strategies described can be employed while new discussion of the use of digital media help frame the scope of research.

ADA in Details provides a visual interpretation of the 2010 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for a convenient, go-to reference of pertinent scoping, technical requirements, and sourcing information. Architects, designers, and everyone else involved in the built environment can turn to this authoritative resource to understand accessibility compliance for places of public accommodation, commercial facilities, and public buildings.

The industry-standard guide to designing well-performing buildings Architectural Detailing systematically describes the principles by which good architectural details are designed. Principles are explained in brief, and backed by extensive illustrations that show you how to design details that will not leak water or air, will control the flow of heat and water vapor, will adjust to all kinds of movement, and will be easy to construct. This new third edition has been updated to conform to International Building Code 2012, and incorporates current knowledge about new material and construction technology. Sustainable design issues are integrated where relevant, and the discussion includes reviews of recent built works that extract underlying principles that can be the basis for new patterns or the alteration and addition to existing patterns.

Architectural Styles is an incomparable guide to architectural styles across the centuries and around the world. Modeled after an architect's plein air sketchbook, the volume features hundreds of detailed drawings by esteemed architectural illustrator Robbie Polley alongside incisive and informative descriptions. This unique guidebook takes readers from Europe and the Americas to Egypt, China, and India. It covers a host of historical and contemporary architectural styles, from ancient and classical to Pre-Columbian, Romanesque, Renaissance, Palladian, art nouveau, Brutalist, and biomorphic. It describes the histories and characteristics of the building traditions of each era and region of the world, and looks at key architectural elements such as buttresses, spandrels, curtain walls, and oculi. The book also includes a section on building parts-from domes and columns to towers, arches, roofs, and vaulting-along with a detailed glossary and bibliography.

This dictionary provides a historical overview of the major architectural developments and styles, building materials and types, major structures and locations, sites and architects. Historical eras like ancient Egyptian architecture and the Renaissance in Europe and movements such as Art Deco are covered. Materials discussed range from concrete, stone, glass and wood, while types of structures include architectural inventions such as the arch and dome to building types from monasteries and mosques to museums and skyscrapers.

This is the sixth edition of the classic text for students of urban and regional planning. It gives a historical overview of the developments and changes in the theory and practice of planning throughout the entire 20th and first part of the 21st centuries.

Peter Hall's seminal Cities of Tomorrow remains an unrivalled account of the history of planning in theory and practice, as well as of the social and economic problems and opportunities that gave rise to it. Now comprehensively revised, the fourth edition offers a perceptive, critical, and global history of urban planning and design throughout the twentieth-century and beyond. A revised and updated edition of this classic text from one of the most notable figures in the field of urban planning and design Offers an incisive, insightful, and unrivalled critical history of planning in theory and practice, as well as of the underlying socio-economic challenges and opportunities.

The sixth edition of the highly successful The City Reader juxtaposes the very best classic and contemporary writings on the city to provide the comprehensive mapping of the terrain of Urban Studies and Planning old and new. The City Reader is the anchor volume in the Routledge Urban Reader Series and is now integrated with all ten other titles in the series. This edition has been extensively updated and expanded to reflect the latest thinking in each of the disciplinary areas included and in topical areas such as compact cities, urban history, place making, sustainable urban development, globalization, cities and climate change, the world city network, the impact of technology on cities, resilient cities, cities in Africa and the Middle East, and urban theory.

Conceived as a practical manual of morphological analysis, The Handbook of Urban Morphology focuses on the form, structure and evolution of human settlements – from villages to metropolitan regions. It is the first book in any language focused on specific, up-to-date ‘how-to’ guidance , with clear summaries of the central concepts, step-by-step instructions for carrying out the analysis, case studies illustrating specific applications and discussion of theoretical underpinnings tied to evidence from the field. Ideal for students as well as professionals and academics dealing with the built environment.

Aimed at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels, this text will: · discuss research design, outlining the stages of the research process in clear detail and the key decisions which need to be taken at each stage · explain to students how to re-interpret policy issues as researchable questions, appropriate for investigation · look in detail at how researchers make their choice of methods, helping students to justify their own decisions · reveal the ethical dimension to such decisions in the context of a growing requirement for the ethical approval of student projects · review the issues for comparative studies – important not least because of student involvement in Erasmus programs and AESOP workshops Packed with case studies, exercises, illustrations and summaries, Research Design in Urban Planning is an invaluable resource for students undertaking their first substantial, individual investigations.

The 'Reader' begins by tracing the roots of the sustainable development concept in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries through classic readings. It then explores dimensions of urban sustainability, including land use and urban design, transportation, ecological planning and restoration, energy and materials use, economic development, social and environmental justice, and green architecture and building. Additional sections cover tools for sustainable development, sustainable development internationally, visions of sustainable community, and case studies from around the world.