UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: ARCH 608/801: Historical Research for Indigenous Modernisms: Scholarly Articles

Search for Scholarly Articles

JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.

Tip: Click on 'Advanced Search' and filter your search by Journal subject (try American Indian Studies, Architecture and Architectural History, and History).
America: History & Life with Full Text

Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

Searching Databases

Tips for Entering Search Terms

Searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Although it is not a library database, Google Scholar can be help find sources emerging research. Paste titles of sources you can't access into the library catalog to see if they're available through our subscriptions, and request unavailable sources through Interlibrary Loan Services.
Search@UW (Library Catalog)
Search@UW is the main search tool of the UWM Libraries. Use it to find a wide range including UW System and UW-Milwaukee print and archival collections, digital media, and huge collections of academic literature.
InterLibrary Loan Login
Request materials that aren't available through the UW System. Log into your InterLibrary Loan (ILL) account using your ePanther ID and password.

Connecting from Off Campus

1. Sign in to your library account

How:

Click on 'My Library Account' on the library homepage or click the 'Sign In' link in the upper right corner of your Search@UW search results.
Follow the prompts to log-in and authenticate using your ePanther ID and password. This process is similar to logging in to PAWS or Canvas.

Why:

Signing to your library account before linking to library content makes it easier for publishers and databases to verify that
1. you are affiliated with UWM and
2. you are authorized to access materials that the library pays for

For detailed instructions on how to troubleshoot access to library materials, visit the How Do I Connect from Off Campus? help page.

2. Use 'Get It' Links in databases to access full-text sources

Accessing online sources through library databases can be complex. It is common to find articles in database search results that are summarized but incomplete. Clicking on a 'Get It' link will connect you to a different Library database that provides access to a full-text version of a source that you can read or download.

For detailed instructions on how to troubleshoot access to library materials, visit the How Do I Connect from Off Campus? help page.

3. Set up the LibKey Nomad browser extension to connect to full-text outside of library search tools

Get the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension
This link will take you to a page where you can choose the LibKey extension for your browser (Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Mozilla Firefox are examples of browsers).

For detailed instructions on how to troubleshoot access to library materials, visit the How Do I Connect from Off Campus? help page.