Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's Studies 200/201: Home

Highlighting the resources available for Women's Studies students in the Archives, Special Collections and Media Library.

Welcome!

Welcome to the Libguide for Introduction to Women's Studies 200/201.  Inside this Libguide you will find instructions on how to go about using Archives, Special Collections and the Media Library. You will also see lists of resources useful to your group project that you can find in those three departments.  See  the "Group Projects" tab above, or use the links to the left, to see the lists of resources available for your topic. 

Note: for those of you with the topics "Sex, Gender and Social Constructions," "Women's Work," and "Women Confronting & Creating Culture," be sure to view the video  called "Some Call Them Gay." This is a news program from September, 1973, by TMJ4, on the gay and lesbian community in Milwaukee. (Original footage comes from the Archives.) It is available in two ways.

It is on DVD, on Reserve for you in the Media Library. The DVD can be checked out for 2 hours and must stay in the library.  Also, you will need to view this on a laptop, which you can check out if you don't have one, via the Media and Reserve Library.  You will find all this in Media and Reserve, located on the bottom floor, West Wing. Ask at the service desk. 

This video is also available (in 5 parts) online. Note that it takes quite a bit of time to load, after you click on the play arrow, so be patient.

Subject Guide

Special Collections Department's picture
Special Collections Department
Contact:
Special Collections
UWM Libraries
2311 E. Hartford Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53211
(414) 229-4345
Website