Industrial & Labor Relations

The Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor looks at the history of organized labor to see where it came from and where it has been. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, a glossary of terms, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on most countries, international as well as national labor organizations, major labor unions, leaders, and other aspects of organized labor such as changes in the composition of its membership.

What is the day-to-day reality for workers in various parts of the world, and how was it in the past? How do they work today, and how did they work in the past? These and many other questions comprise the field of the global history of work - a young discipline that is introduced with this handbook. In 8 thematic chapters, this book discusses these aspects of work in a global and long term perspective, paying attention to several kinds of work. Convict labour, slave and wage labour, labour migration, and workers of the textile industry, but also workers' organisation, strikes, and motivations for work are part of this first handbook of global labour history, written by the most renowned scholars of the profession.

In The Dawning of American Labor a leading scholar of American labor history draws upon first-hand accounts and the latest scholarship to offer a fascinating look at how Americans perceived and adapted to the shift from a largely agrarian economy to one dominated by manufacturing. For the generations following the Great Strike, "the Labor Problem" and the idea of class relations became a critical issue facing the nation. The Dawning of American Labor provides a concise, comprehensive, and completely up-to-date synthesis of the latest scholarship on the early development of industrialization in the United States, and considers how working people reacted, both in the workplace and in their communities, as the nation's economy made its shift from an agrarian to an industrial base.

The Handbook maps the current state of the field and presents a visionary agenda for future research by mingling the voices and perspectives of founding and emerging scholars. In addition to a framing Introduction and Conclusion written by the co-editors, the volume is divided into six sections: Methods and principles of research in working-class studies; Class and education; Work and community; Working-class cultures; Representations; and Activism and collective action. Each of the six sections opens with an overview that synthesizes research in the area and briefly summarizes each of the chapters in the section.

This guide aims to support governments in their efforts to examine their industrial relations systems, as well as to build consensus on, implement and monitor policies that promote collective bargaining for sound, fair and productive labour relations. It provides straightforward guidance on collective bargaining: the parties, the process and how the public authorities can encourage and promote the full development and use of collective bargaining as a tool to regulate terms and conditions of employment in line with relevant International Labour Standards.

This International Labour Law Handbook from A to Z aims to give a comprehensive overview of the development and current status of labour law and industrial relations issues, including globalization and international labour standards. In this Handbook there are cross-references to international labour standards and European Union directives, resolutions and regulations.

Veteran labor organizer and educator Bill Barry looks to his own vast experience to document and help organizers through all the stages of a unionization campaign, from how to get it off the ground to how to bring it home with a signed contract and a strong bargaining unit. In 19 chapters he discusses everything from the culture of organizing to how to strategize, various approaches to campaigns, whether to go through formal (i.e., NLRB) procedures or work from outside established law, what to expect from employers, and a whole lot more. Several appendices offer useful tips and tools.

This comprehensive guide reviews labor relations law in the United States from its origins to the creation of key statutory protections and the up to date developments of the modern-day National Labor Relations Board (NLRB). Expert commentary offers insight into primary legal issues such as union organizing, picketing, employer responses, the duty to bargain, and enforcement of collective bargaining agreements and their arbitration provisions.