Skip to main content

Public Health Research at the UWM Libraries: Welcome

ZSPH research needs

UWM Libraries collections and resources were augmented due to a $60,000 grant from the School of Public Health. These electronic journals and databases were suggested by faculty, highly ranked by librarian and health specialists, and chosen with the School's research and degree programs in mind. Remote access is available.

CAB Direct (database)      (includes Global Health Archive) 

Annals of Behavioral Medicine
Archives of Environmental & Occupational Health
Cancer Causes and Control
Epidemiology and Infection

Genetic Epidemiology
International Journal of Epidemiology
Journal for Healthcare Quality
Journal of Public Health Policy

Journal of Women’s Health [& Gender-based Medicine; former suffix]
Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Paediatric and Perinatal Epidemiology

Preventive Medicine
Risk Analysis
Scandinavian Journal of Work, Environment & Health
Social Marketing Quarterly

Statistics in Medicine

These titles complement and expand on the UWM Libraries substantial existing resources in the field of public health.

Get [Re]Acquainted with the UWM Libraries

The UWM Libraries is contained within the Golda Meir Library building, directly north of the Student Union.  The Daniel M. Soref Learning Commons, on the first floor of the west wing of the library, is open 24 hours a day, Sunday through Thursday during fall and spring semesters.

Research and Collection Resources

The UWM Libraries homepage is the starting point for researchers who wish to access the libraries' resources. From here you can utilize online databases, electronic journals, online forms and much more.

  • Search@UW  searches articles, books (including UW System books), media and digital collections. Find out if we own a book, journal, DVD, CD, or government publication by using Search@UW.
  • Databases: Much of your research may involve using databases (such as PubMed, PsycINFO or Web of Science) to find research articles. We have access to over 300 research databases covering every discipline. Our Databases A-Z page is an alphabetical listing of all the databases the library has access to. See Databases & Guides by Subject for a list of databases according to discipline.

@ the UWM
Libraries ...

  • Access to over 300 research databases covering every discipline
  • Tools (such as "Get It !" and "Citation Linker") connect you with the items you need
  • 24/7 to full-text online articles from over 80,000 journals & magazines

MUCH more than books and journals

Need Help?

To get help with your research, you can contact a librarian by calling the Research Help desk at (414) 229-4659 or by coming into the library during regular hours.

For help 24/7, you can chat with a librarian or submit your question for an email response.

For help researching a topic, contact the librarian who specializes in your subject area.

Checking Out Materials

Meet Your Librarian

Linda Kopecky
Head, Research Services
UWM Libraries
2311 East Hartford Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53211
Website / Blog Page


Mary Boulanger, UWM Health & Life Sciences Librarian Emeritus, created this Public Health Research Resources guide in 2010 and edited it until her January 2016 retirement.

Ellis McLaughlin, Research Services Intern, contributed content and editorial assistance in 2016.