UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Nutrition 305: Hunger at Home: Home

Data You Can Use

Organized by local data analysts and community organizers, Data You Can Use provides data and reports focused on Milwaukee neighborhoods.

MKE Indicators
Interactive maps of the Milwaukee area that allow you to view population data across five categories: Equitable Housing, Equity & Access, Population, Health, and Market Value.
Neighborhood Portraits
Compilation of tables with key takeaways on local population data for each Milwaukee County neighborhood. Includes data on Population Characteristics and Housing and Household Characteristics.

Food Security in Milwaukee

NNS Spotlight: How Milwaukee’s newest Black-owned grocery store serves the residents of Sherman Park
A background on current food insecurity in Milwaukee
Discusses the impact of systematic racism on food insecurity in Milwaukee.
Race & Ethnicity and Food Insecurity (Feeding America)
Research from Feeding America exploring the intersection of race & ethnicity and food insecurity.
Milwaukee Fresh Food Access Report
2019 report from the City of Milwaukee with background, strategies and maps on food access.

Milwaukee Food Council
The Milwaukee Food Council (MFC) strives to support a locally-anchored food system that advances Milwaukee’s social, economic, environmental well-being through collective action.
Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Program
Run by the Milwaukee Health Department, the Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Program is a special supplemental nutrition program for eligible women, infants, and children. The WIC Program's primary goal is to promote and maintain the health and well-being of nutritionally at-risk pregnant, breastfeeding, and postpartum women, infants, and children.
FoodWise (Extension Milwaukee County)
Formerly known as the Wisconsin Nutrition Education Program (WNEP), FoodWIse is a part of the Milwaukee County UW-Extension Family Living Department. Both programs work at the intersection of health and financial literacy to provide community members with education and tools to make positive strides nutritionally and financially. Our goal is to empower families facing real life challenges, while addressing issues of food insecurity to improve well-being of families in our community.

UWM Food Center and Pantry
Located on the ground floor of the Student Union, along Maryland Ave, next to Union Station.
MATC Food Pantry
Locations at MATC's Downtown Milwaukee, Mequon, Oak Creek, West Allis and Walker's Square campuses.
Kinship Community Food Center
Part of the Hunger Task Force Network, Kinship Community Food Center provides shared meals and cooking activities with healthy recipes.
NourishMKE Community Food Centers
NourishMKE is the largest network of community food centers in Milwaukee. We provide encouraging spaces to select and prepare free quality foods, and explore nutrition and wellbeing.
Hunger Task Force
Hunger Task Force provides a safety net of emergency food to a network of local food pantries, shelters and meal programs within a network of nearly 200 access points for hungry children, families and seniors in Milwaukee and the surrounding area.
Feeding Wisconsin State Association of Food Banks
Feeding Wisconsin is the statewide association of the Feeding America food banks that sources, warehouses, and provides food to over 750 affiliated agencies and 1,000 local food programs throughout the state.

Finding Scientific Articles: Relevant Databases

PubMed
Over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, open access journals (PMC), and online books and reference sources (Bookshelf). Useful For: systematic reviews, clinical trials, Trending Articles, Cited By
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a platform that indexes thousands of peer-reviewed journals and book series from Elsevier in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences and humanities. Why can't I access some of this content?
Web of Science
Web of Science includes citations from the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, and the Derwent Innovation Index. Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. Useful For: systematic reviews, Highly Cited papers, citation metrics
AGRICOLA (NAL SEARCH)
AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. AGRICOLA covers agriculture-related fields including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, farming, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences. The OPAC describes the books, serials, audiovisuals, and other resources held by NAL and its Cooperators.
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, and children's health.

Nutrition 305: Hunger at Home

NUTR 305 Library and Data You Can Use Workshop

Librarian

Related Guides

Research Help

Get Research Help

Data You Can Use

Food Security in Milwaukee

Finding Scientific Articles: Relevant Databases