This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Occupational Therapy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Future of Health Care?
RefWorks - Beyond the Basics
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Home UWM Libraries

Admin Sign In 

Occupational Therapy  Tags: health_sciences occupational_therapy ot uwm  

subject resources and library services for Occupational Therapy students, staff and faculty
Last update: Feb 05th, 2010 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/ot  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

OT: the Resources

Occupational Therapy (OT), helps people regain, develop and build skills that are important for independent living, health and happiness. [AOTA web site]*

UWM Libraries have resources and services to help the OT student and faculty find the information they need.

Use the tabs at the top of this page to look for books, journal articles and other health or OT related resources.

 

* American Occupational Therapy Association

 

Research Skills Handout

This Word document is compatible with either MS Word 2007 or 2003 versions.

 

Need Help?

To get help with your research, you can contact a librarian by calling the Information Desk at (414) 229-4659 or by coming into the library during regular hours.

For help 24/7, you can email, IM or chat with a librarian.

If you need help researching a topic, you may want to contact the librarian who specializes in your subject area. See the list of Subject Area Librarians.

 

Get (Re)Acquainted with the UWM Libraries

                                           

 

The UWM Libraries is contained within the Golda Meir Library building, directly north of the Student Union.  The new Daniel M. Soref Learning Commons on the first floor of the west wing of the library opened on Monday, August 24th.  The Learning Commons is open 24 hours a day, Sunday through Thursday while class is in session.

 

Which to use: Catalog or Database?

Catalog vs. Database

What are they for?

  • Use a library catalog to locate books and documents in a library's collections. It will also say if the library owns specific journals. PantherCat, MadCat, and MarqCat are examples of library catalogs.
  • A database, on the other hand, indexes the journals and is used to point to specific articles within the journals, articles on a topic or by a particular author. The full text of some, but not all, of these articles may be available online. Academic Search, ERIC and MEDLINE via PubMed are databases.
  • Catalogs and databases do different things but work hand in hand to provide resources. Use one or more databases to find references to articles, then a library catalog to see if a library owns the journal where the article is published.

          Find It!: touching all the [data]bases

  • is a helpful tool for locating electronic or print copies of articles available at the UWM Libraries. If one database does not have the full text of an article, use Find It! to determine if the article is available from any of our online resources or in print at the UWM Libraries. If the article is not immediately available, Find It! will link to Interlibrary Loan, where you can request it!
 

Things to Check Out (besides books)

but , there's more!  UWM Libraries has MUCH more than books and journals, 

but wait; there's STILL more...

  • a University Information Technology Services computer lab (2nd floor, east wing)
  • free laptop checkout from the Media Library (Lower Level, west wing)
  • the Grind coffee bar (1st floor, east wing): a great place to study or to take a break from studying!
  • free lockers throughout the building
  • quiet study floor***  (2nd floor, west wing)
  • wireless Internet access in most spaces in the library (register with your EPanther ID)
  • free digital scanning. Scanners are located in Current Periodicals )Lower level, west wing) and across from the Grind on 1st floor, east wing.    You can turn books, articles or microfilm into PDFs!
  • printers and photocopiers available

Check out more of the amenities the UWM Libraries has to offer!

***Construction on 1st and 2nd floor West may sometimes be noisy during the spring and summer of 2009. We apologize for any disruption.

 

Ask a Librarian

Profile ImageMary Boulanger


Contact Info:
Health and Life Sciences Librarian
UWM Libraries, Research and Instructional Support
Milwaukee, WI 53211
(414) 229-5045
Send Email

Subjects:
Nursing, Health Sciences, English 102

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait