Skip to main content

History Faculty Guide: Requesting Books, Articles and Databases

This guide is designed to provide the History Department with quick assess to links they would use and the explain some of the instructional goals and

Requesting Items

There are a variety of ways to get items we do not have. Whether you are looking to request a trial for a database or trying to borrow a book from Marquette's Raynor Library we can get you almost any resource.

Inter-Library Loan

Inter-Library Loan allows for you to fill out a request form for books, chapters, films, articles and micro-text.

Inter-Library Loan Form

Inter-Archives Loan provides a similar service however in place of books and articles this service provides access to loaned archival materials which are sent to our Archives research center for viewing.

Inter-Archives Loan Form

Info Pass

Info Pass is a Milwaukee-area resource sharing collaborative led by Milwaukee Public Library, the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee, and Marquette University. This service allows same day access to books, articles and film owned by any of the three libraries.

To use this service identify a book or article you would like to check out come to the Research Help Desk. There is a form that a librarian must fill out and the loaning library is contacted so you may pick up the item at your earliest convenience. This service is only offered in-person at the Research Help Desk. For questions about this service call (414) 229-4659 to speak with the Research Help Desk.

Marquette Libraries Catalog

Milwaukee Public Library Catalog

Book Purchase

To request a book or serial be purchased please fill in this form if you want to recommend the purchase of a book or other resource by the UWM Libraries. We welcome your suggestions.

Requests will be forwarded to the library for consideration. Please note that it takes time to acquire and process the items you request.

Please do not abbreviate. If the information does not fit in the box provided, text will scroll and all information will be sent.

Purchase Recommendation Form

Database Request

Many trials are arranged by Wisconsin and UW library consortia, while others are unsolicited offers from vendors. This gives library staff and users an opportunity to learn about different research tools. To request a trial to a database to either assess the collection offered or for short term access for research please use this method for request.

Database Requests