Skip to main content

UWM Music Library Student Employee Guide: Returning Student Employees
What is New?

Training Resources for new student workers in the Music & Curriculum Library

Recent Changes

Welcome back to our Returning Employees! We hope you enjoyed your summer months!  

This page is intended to highlight NEW things.  However, as some adjunct instructors and community users may only visit the library occasionally, we have included some major changes from the past year for you to be aware of.

  1. You probably have noticed the UWM Libraries has gone through a number of technological changes:
     *  The UWM Libraries website has been updated.  Everything that was available in the previous version is still available so you might consider taking some time to scope out the current layout.
     *  UWM Libraries has transition from Voyager to Alma for our circulation need. You might want to explore Alma and make sure you understand how it works.  (Some departments will be training their student employees  on the new system.)
    *  PatherCat is no more! We have replaced PantherCat with a system labeled "Search@UW."  This Primo-based search engine is more compatible with our new circulation system, Alma. 
  2. The Digital Humanities Lab (aka, DHL) is no longer new but services and programming have evolved.  Located on the 2nd Floor East (behind the 2-East/Music/Curriculum service desk), the DHL is a collaborative space for users to explore digital humanities. 
  3. The "Ask A Librarian" or "Research Help" Desk moved at the end of August 2014, to now share long counter across from the Grind in the Soref Learning Commons (between the Circulation and UITS service points; look for the tall lamp!).
  4. The Media Book Collection (formerly labeled (MED)) has been integrated into the main stacks. 
  5. The Media and Reserve Library now has MacBook Airs available for checkout! See the available equipment list for more details.

Are there additional changes in your area of the library?  Please contact Linda Kopecky (lkopecky@uwm.edu) with additional content for this section.

Ask a Librarian Desk (moved Aug '14)

The “Ask a Librarian” service moved last August (2014) to the main desk located in the Learning Commons (on the 1st floor in the west wing). You’ll find us between Circulation and the UITS Help Desk - look for the Research Help; Ask a Librarian sign or the tall lamp.

This central location will give us increased visibility, allow us to coordinate services with our colleagues, and is designed to serve customers better.

There are many things not changing with the move:

dmslc_ba

Office Supplies Vending Machine - Learning Commons

Did you come to campus without pens, markers, USB devices, ear buds, or similar item?  Check out the office supplies vending machine in the Learning Commons!

Electronic Reserve Has Transitioned to D2L

Last year, the UWM Libraries transitioned the electronic "E-Reserve" service to one in which course readings are now posted directly in D2L by the course instructor. As of the end of Spring 2014 we no longer host E-Reserve materials on library-created web pages.  For more detailed information, please see the Library Director’s letter and a detailed FAQ about this process on our Electronic Reserve and D2L Library Guide. 

Interested in converting your Reserve material to D2L now?  Contact Sarah Kober in the Media & Reserve Library / phone: 414-229-4673 / email: slkober@uwm.edu

Search@UW

Search@UW

Search@UW is a service now implemented across the UW System. It provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature. Searching these resources traditionally required multiple searches at multiple sites.

Try Search@UW when you need a quick search and full-text articles (default).  Search@UW is recommended as undergraduate research starting point, easy for novice users who are accustomed to a Google-like interface.

Search@UW defaults to UW-Milwaukee holdings but can be expanded to identify holdings for all other UW libraries.  (This does NOT guarantee full-text access to items held only by another library.)

Graduate Researchers, note:  The "native database" and traditional "PantherCat interfaces" have not gone away.  Advanced searchers will be better off using PantherCat and subject databases.

Please share feedback (your own, or what you hear from your students) via the feedback form, located at the bottom of all PantherCat and Search@UW pages. Many Search@UW settings are UW-wide but we want to compile as many customizations/bugs/improvements as we can.


See the detailed Search@UW library guide for more information and tips.

Recording Booth - Media & Reserve Library

The Recording Booth is intended for those who need to rehearse speeches, conduct online or phone interviews, record audiovisual presentations or other similar projects.

http://uwm.edu/libraries/wp-content/uploads/sites/59/2014/07/AudioRecordingBooth.jpg

CHARGING STATIONS !

Looking for Power? Recharge your smart phone in the library!   No-fee charging stations are located in the Learning Commons and in the Media & Reserve Library, both courtesy of the UWM School of Information Studies.

                                                                            

    

 

Water Bottle Refilling Station

Try out the water bottle refilling station, near the Learning Commons' restrooms.

Embedded image permalink