UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: WGS 700: Feminist Issues and Scholarship: Find Articles

Searching for Scholarly Articles

Cited Reference Searching with Google Scholar

Cited Reference Searching: Bibliography and Search@UW

Visit Set Up Library Access page for strategies that make connecting to sources easier.

Article only available as an abstract? Find a citation for a book chapter we don't have? Journal isn't licensed by the library? Being asked to pay for an article? These common challenges don't have to slow you down.

The 'Set Up Library Access' page lists strategies for improving off-campus searching and instructions on how to request unavailable sources.

Women's and Gender Studies Databases

GenderWatch

GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Women's Studies International

Women's Studies International is a composite of ten contributing databases covering women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship from throughout the world. Corresponds to Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-); New Books on Women & Feminism (1987-); Women of Color and Southern Women 1975-1988, and annual supplements (1989-); WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies, and other databases and print publications. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, and audiovisual materials relating to women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship.
JSTOR

Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.
Sociological Abstracts

The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar index includes peer-reviewed online academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations, undergraduate theses and journal articles, preprints, abstracts, technical reports, and other scholarly literature, including court opinions and patents.

more... less...

Off campus? Set Google Scholar to link to UWM Libraries subscriptions via
  ■ Click the Settings gear on the top of the page.
  ■ Select Library Links from the left column.
  ■ Enter “Milwaukee” in search box.
  ■ Check the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee - Get IT! box and click Save.

If UWM Libraries have a subscription to any articles on the results list, you will see a Get IT! (UWM Libraries) link to the far right.

Request Articles the Library Doesn't Have

Interlibrary Loan Service (ILLiad)

Use the Interlibrary Loan form to request articles, chapters, books and other media that the UWM Libraries does not own. You will also see this form when you click "Request Item" in the library databases. Interlibrary loan requests are free.

InterLibrary Loan Login

Transcribed Interlibrary Loan form example (Opens in a new tab)
This is a detailed description of the image embedded above.