Primary sources include historical accounts, images, diaries, government documents-- any materials that were created at the time of the events you're studying. These resources will help you find digitized primary sources and artistic representations of costumes, theaters, and productions.
Library Resources
Explore primary sources from from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world including artworks, photographs, publications, and other artifacts.
Primary documents focusing on the history and culture of African Americans, Latino Americans and American Indians.
Early English Books Online has over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Free Online Resources
Newspapers are important valuable resources and can be primary sources for things like reviews of performances, interviews with artists, photographs, story ideas. Newspaper articles may include unique data for local areas, based on local reports or gathered by the journalist. Check out the following news databases for both current & historical topics. This is just a small selection of the newspaper databases we have access to. This link will take you to a more comprehensive list http://guides.library.uwm.edu/az.php?s=11492
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
