UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Spanish 545 &amp; 702: Spanish Linguistics: Find Scholarly Sources

Search in Search@UW

Find articles, UW books, digital collections & media

[Advanced Search]

Databases for Research in World Languages

Mango Languages
Self-paced language learning modules for over 70 languages.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography indexes international scholarly materials, including over 4,400 journals, books, working papers, and conference proceedings on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. It is updated 10 times a year.
JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
Project Muse
Provides digital humanities and social sciences content with full text access to 350 journals and select full text access to ebooks. Limit to subscribed full text using the advanced search and selecting, "Only content I have access to". Why can't I access some of this content?
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
WorldCat
WorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.

Databases for Spanish Language Research

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index) Online
HAPI Online covers political, economic, social, and cultural issues of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean as well as Hispanics in the United States. It includes citations to articles, books reviews, and documents indexed in over 500 international journals. HAPI covers journals in English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portugese, and German.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Latin American Digital Beat
The Latin America Digital Beat, formerly Latin America Data Base, provided access to three weekly digests covering Mexico (SourceMex), the Caribbean and Central America (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). LADB is no longer publishing new content but archival access is available.

SciELO
Journals from Portugal, Spain, and South Africa are also included. The SciELO project is an initiative of the Foundation for Support to Research of the State of São Paulo, Brazil (FAPESP) and the Latin American and Caribbean Center for Information on Health Sciences (BIREME). SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature.
Redalyc
Founded in 2003, the Network of Scientific Journals from Latin America and the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal (Redalyc) is a network of non-commercial academy-owned Open Access scientific journals. Its goal was to give visibility, consolidate and enhance the editorial quality of Social Sciences and Humanities journals from Latin America. In 2006, Redalyc welcomed all fields of knowledge and integrated journals from the Iberian Peninsula.
Dialnet
Lists almost 1.4 million articles in over 4,000 mostly Spanish journals and magazines, and thousands of books and dissertations. Subjects covered include primarily the sciences and technology, but also the social sciences, humanities, education, business, and law. Open-access database created by a group of Spanish universities under the leadership of the Universidad de la Rioja, Logrono, Spain. Free article-alert service for registered users.
LA Referencia
LA Referencia gives visibility to the scientific production of higher education and research institutions in Latin America, promotes Free and Open Access to the full text, with special emphasis on results financed with public funds.
Latindex
Online Regional Information System for Scientific Journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal

Find Full-Text Articles with LibKey Nomad (Browser Extension)

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that indicates the availability of full-text articles through the UWM Libraries or open access when you are searching the open web. LibKey Nomad works on publisher websites, PubMed, and Wikipedia to connect you to scholarly resources. If UWM does not have the full text, LibKey Nomad will route you to Search@UW with a link to a pre-filled InterLibrary Loan request.

To use LibKey Nomad:

Install the LibKey Nomad extension for your browser
Search for and select University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee from the list of institutions
- The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the top right of your browser window
Start your search
- The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the bottom left of your browser when you are on a page with resources available through UWM Libraries

Journals in Spanish Language Acquisition

Hispania
Devoted to the teaching of Spanish and Portuguese, Hispania is published by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese. Hispania invites the submission of original, unpublished manuscripts on language, linguistics, literature, literary criticism, film, culture, cultural studies, applied linguistics and pedagogy having to do with Spanish and Portuguese.
Second Language Research
Second Language Research is an international peer-reviewed, quarterly journal, publishing original theory-driven research concerned with second (and additional) language acquisition and second language performance. This includes both experimental studies and contributions aimed at exploring conceptual issues. In addition to providing a forum for investigators in the field of non-native language learning, it seeks to promote interdisciplinary research which links acquisition studies to related non-applied fields such as neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, theoretical linguistics, bilingualism, and first language developmental psycholinguistics.
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
Studies in Second Language Acquisition is a refereed journal of international scope devoted to the scientific discussion of acquisition or use of non-native and heritage languages. Each volume (five issues) contains research articles of either a quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods nature in addition to essays on current theoretical matters. Other rubrics include Replication Studies, Critical Commentaries, State-of-the-Scholarship, Methods Forum, and Research Reports.
Studies in Second Language Learning and Teaching
Studies in Second Language Learning and Teaching is a refereed journal published four times a year. The journal is devoted to reporting previously unpublished highest quality theoretical and empirical research on learning and teaching second and foreign languages.

Spanish Language Acquitision Books from the Collection

The L2 Acquisition of Spanish Subjects by Margaret Quesada
ISBN: 9781614515937
Publication Date: 2015-06-12
There is a long overdue need to address the sharp philosophical and methodological divide between formal/generative and functional/discourse perspectives in contemporary theoretical linguistics and L2 acquisition. Language structure in general, and the use of subjects in particular, is dependent upon multiple syntactic, lexico-semantic, and discourse-pragmatic factors. Therefore, the study of L2 acquisition must be equally multi-faceted. This volume examines data from over twenty years of research in the L2 acquisition of Spanish subjects from several theoretical perspectives, including generative approaches, processing theory, discourse-pragmatics and sociolinguistic-variationist models.
Innovative Research and Practices in Second Language Acquisition and Bilingualism by John W. Schwieter (Editor)
ISBN: 9789027213181
Publication Date: 2013-08-22
Presents assessments and exemplary empirical research on some of the more well-known linguistic and cognitive perspectives to SLA and bilingualism.
The Art of Teaching Spanish: Second Language Acquisition from Research to Praxis by Rafael Salaberry; Barbara A. Lafford (Editor)
ISBN: 9781589011335
Publication Date: 2006-12-08
he Art of Teaching Spanish explores in-depth the findings of research in second language acquisition (SLA) and other language-related fields and translates those findings into practical pedagogical tools for current-and future-Spanish-language instructors.This volume addresses how theoretical frameworks affect the application of research findings to the teaching of Spanish, how logistical factors affect the way research findings can be applied to teach Spanish, and how findings from Spanish SLA research would be applicable to Spanish second language teaching and represented in Spanish curricula through objectives and goals (as evidenced in pedagogical materials such as textbooks and computer-assisted language learning software.

Spanish 545 & 702: Spanish Linguistics

Request Materials from Other Institutions