Before you build your search strategy, identify some databases for your search based on your topic or subject area. For example, you might search JSTOR or ProQuest Congressional for sources related to American politics, or Worldwide Political Abstract and CIAO for international politics. See databases by subject or ask a librarian for help.
Start to build a search strategy by idenitfying some search terms. Search terms or keywords can be people, events, theories, concepts, periods, movements etc. Use terms that describe the concepts in your research question and brainstorm their synonyms. You can consult a reference text, such as an encyclopedia, for additional background information and to identify additional terms.
For example, if you are interested in researching judicial decision making of appellate courts, in addition to "appellate courts" some additional key words might be "court of appeals" or "appeals court"
You may have to test a few terms to see which terms retrieve the most relevant results. You can look at the subjects or keywords listed in the "details" section of your relevant results for other terms to try.
AND includes both terms
Example: "state" AND "federal"
OR includes either term
Example: "judicial decision making" OR "judicial process"
NOT excludes term*
Example: "courts" NOT drug
*Note that NOT may exclude results with the term even if a result contains a search term you want included
Using database syntax can help you refine your search. For example using "double quotations" will narrow searches by searching only for that specific phrase rather than each individual term. Using truncation (*) can expand your search by expanding the scope of a single term.
| Symbol | Use | Function | Example |
| "..." | Double quotation marks | Searches exact phrase | "court of appeals" |
| * | truncation | Adds none or more characters | sentence* searches sentence, sentenced, sentences, sentencing, etc |
Different database platforms (i.e. EBSCO, ProQuest) may use different syntax. Review a more complete list of database syntax.
A search strategy (or search string) are the keywords, terms, and syntax used in your search. A typical search strategy includes 2-4 concepts, but may include more keywords.
For example, an initial search for information on housing interventions after prison release:
"judicial decision making" AND "court of appeals"
But you may want to expand your search to get results on housing interventions after prison release, but also narrow results to only formerly incarcerated women. So instead you might try:
("judicial decision making" OR "judicial process") AND ("court of appeals" OR "appellate court" OR appeals court")
User the search filters to narrow your search. Common limiters are resource type (scholarly article, book, etc), date, and subject. In Search@UW there are also filters for peer-reviewed articles only, or available online only.
What if my search produces