Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Search@UW to find articles, all books, digital collections & media.
Locating Books in the Library
B - Philosophy (General)
BC - Logic
BD - Speculative philosophy
BF - Psychology
BH - Aesthetics
BJ - Ethics
BL - Religions/Mythology/Rationalism
BM - Judaism
BP - Islam/Bahaism/Theosophy
BQ - Buddhism
BR - Christianity
BS - The Bible
BT - Doctrinal Theology
BV - Practical Theology
BX - Christian Denominations
Books, theses, and periodicals with call numbers beginning with "B" are located on the West Wing 3rd floor.
Reference books with call numbers beginning with "B" are located in the West Wing Reference Room (1st floor).
Philosopher's Index offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials contains citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. Areas covered include Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
IngentaConnect is a free abstracting service covering over 29,000 scholarly journals in many academic fields including engineering, library science, medicine, science, and technology. Full-text of selected journal articles is available to signed in UWM users. Individual users can order articles for a fee.
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until June 30, 2021.) JSTOR archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists
) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes over 12,000 journals and 120,000 conference proceedings with the strongest coverage in the sciences (over 8,500 journals), followed by social sciences (over 3,000 journals), and arts and humanities (over 1,700 fully indexed journals). Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. For impact factor information about specific journals use Journal Citation Reports.
Searching by Subject Headings
The following are examples of the Library of Congress subject headings that can be used in searching. These terms will be helpful when searching by "Subject Heading Browse."
- philosophy, comparative
- philosophy, chinese
- philosophy, ancient
- meaning (philosophy)
- nietzsche friedrich