UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: MSW Online: Find Scholarly Articles

Recommended Databases for Social Welfare Research

Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
PubMed (Medline)
- This link opens in a new window
Over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PsycINFO (APA)
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
Exploring Race in Society
Exploring Race in Society contains scholarly journals and essays that provide researchers with a deeper understanding of how current issues stem from actions and policies of the past. Each topic includes an overview article and three essays suggesting potential solutions. Solutions essays are written by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine and other disciplines working to address issues related to race.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International is a composite of ten contributing databases covering women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship from throughout the world. Corresponds to Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-); New Books on Women & Feminism (1987-); Women of Color and Southern Women 1975-1988, and annual supplements (1989-); WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies, and other databases and print publications. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, and audiovisual materials relating to women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes over 12,000 journals and 120,000 conference proceedings with the strongest coverage in the sciences (over 8,500 journals), followed by social sciences (over 3,000 journals), and arts and humanities (over 1,700 fully indexed journals). Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. For impact factor information about specific journals use Journal Citation Reports.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.

Find Full-Text Articles with LibKey Nomad (Browser Extension)

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that indicates the availability of full-text articles through the UWM Libraries or open access when you are searching the open web. LibKey Nomad works on publisher websites, PubMed, and Wikipedia to connect you to scholarly resources. If UWM does not have the full text, LibKey Nomad will route you to Search@UW with a link to a pre-filled InterLibrary Loan request.

To use LibKey Nomad:

Install the LibKey Nomad extension for your browser
Search for and select University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee from the list of institutions
- The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the top right of your browser window
Start your search
- The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the bottom left of your browser when you are on a page with resources available through UWM Libraries

MSW Online

Recommended Databases for Social Welfare Research

Find Full-Text Articles with LibKey Nomad (Browser Extension)

To use LibKey Nomad:

Searching ProQuest Databases

Searching EBSCOhost Databases

Searching in Web of Science