UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Honors 200: Left, Right, Center: Bridging the Political Divide: Find Scholarly Sources

Search@UW Search Bar

Search in Search@UW

Find articles, UW books, digital collections & media

[Advanced Search]

Recommended Databases

JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Project Muse
Provides digital humanities and social sciences content with full text access to 350 journals and select full text access to ebooks. Limit to subscribed full text using the advanced search and selecting, "Only content I have access to". Why can't I access some of this content?
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.

How to Search@UW

Highlighted books from the collection

The Hollow Parties: The Many Pasts and Disordered Present of American Party Politics by Daniel Schlozman; Sam Rosenfeld
ISBN: 9780691248639
Publication Date: 2024-05-07
The Hollow Parties takes readers from the rise of mass party politics in the Jacksonian era through the years of Barack Obama and Donald Trump.
The Channels of Student Activism: How the Left and Right Are Winning (and Losing) in Campus Politics Today by Amy J. Binder; Jeffrey L. Kidder
ISBN: 9780226819877
Publication Date: 2022-05-16
In analyzing collegiate activism from the left, right, and center, The Channels of Student Activism shows exactly how politically engaged college students are channeled into two distinct forms of mobilization and why that has profound consequences for the future of American politics.
The Closed Partisan Mind: a new psychology of American polarization by Matthew D. Luttig
ISBN: 9781501768897
Publication Date: 2023-04-15
The Closed Partisan Mind traces the roots of partisan polarization to psychological closed-mindedness in the electorate and the changing perception of politics created by polarized political leaders and the new media environment. American politics today can be defined by the intense and increasingly toxic divide between Democrats and Republicans. Matthew D. Luttig explores why so many Americans have endorsed this level of political conflict.
Party Polarization in America: the war over two social contract by B. Dan Wood; Soren Jordan
ISBN: 9781107195929
Publication Date: 2017-08-18
This book develops a general explanation for party polarization in America from both historical and contemporary perspectives. Prior polarization studies focused exclusively on the modern era, but this work traces party polarization from the constitutional convention of 1787 to the present. Using such a broad historical perspective shows that what was unusual in American history was the period of low polarization from the Great Depression through 1980, rather than the period of high polarization of the modern era. Polarization is the norm of the American system, not the exception, and is likely to persist in the future. More theoretically, party polarization in America has been due to class-based conflict and rent-seeking by the patrician and plebian classes in various historical eras, rather than conflict over cultural values. As in earlier historical eras, modern party polarization has largely been elite-driven, with party entrepreneurs cunningly and strategically using polarization to their advantage.