UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: LGBTQIA+ Rights and History: Primary Sources

Searching for Digitized Primary Sources Online

Find Primary Sources with DPLA
Searching Online for Digitized Primary Sources

This video demonstrates how to use free primary source search tool Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

This video demonstrates how to search for digitized primary using Google and where to find UWM Libraries digital collections and primary source databases.

Primary Source Collections

QZAP Queer Zine Archive
QZAP was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities. QZAP is headquartered in Milwaukee.
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
Wisconsin LGBT History Project
Since 1994, the Wisconsin LGBTQ History Project has been documenting, preserving and celebrating the heritage of local gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people. Today, we are the state's largest digital repository of LGBTQ media
Stonewall Digital Collections
The Stonewall National Museum and Archives and Library (SNMAL) is one of the largest LGBTQ+ archives and libraries in the United States, founded in 1972 by Mark Silber. SNMAL is a safe, welcoming place that inspires and promotes understanding through collecting, preserving and sharing the proud culture of LGBT+ people of all stories, and their significant role in U.S. society. This portal contains a digitized selection from our physical archive.
GLBT Historical Society | Digital Collections
The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
Founded in the 1970s, The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities. The existence of the Archives will thus enable current and future generations to analyze and reevaluate the Lesbian experience.
LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory
Founded in 2014, the LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory is directed by Prof. Elspeth Brown and based at the University of Toronto. As the largest LGBTQ oral history project in North American history, the Collaboratory connects archives across Canada and the U.S. to produce a digital history hub for the research and study of gay, lesbian, queer, and trans oral histories.
Lesbians on the Front Lines: Meet the Queer Women Who Cared for People With AIDS During the Epidemic's Height
Collection of interviews published by The Body.
Since its inception in 1995, The Body has reliably published vital HIV-related information, news, support, and personal perspectives.

UWM LGBT Digital Collections
The UWM Archives documents LGBT+ history in Milwaukee, including the Gay and Lesbian Liberation Movement, AIDS activism and healthcare, and marriage equality. Search across our LGBT+ history digital collections to find news footage, photographs, documents, oral histories, and more.
more...less...
Note: UWM Digital Collections are also listed in the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
LGBTQ Materials in the UWM Archives and Special Collections
This guide provides an overview of primary source collections held by UWM Archives and Special Collections that are related to LGBTQ history. The collections listed in this guide are mostly physical and available for use in-person at the Golda Meir Library. This guide includes instructions on how to schedule a visit at either the UWM Archives or Special Collections offices.

Historic Newspaper Databases

Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection. This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection contains historical newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. Included are thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. There are 150 Wisconsin-specific titles including the Janesville Daily Gazette, the Racine Daily Herald, the Eau Claire Leader, and many more.

Wisconsin LGBT History Project | Periodicals
Find an alphabetical list of the Periodicals known to have been published in or primarily for the Wisconsin LGBT community with images and links where available.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1999)
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2007) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post (1877-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

LGBTQIA+ Rights and History

UWM Archives

UWM Archives and Area Research Center

UWM-Special Collections

UWM Special Collections

Searching for Digitized Primary Sources Online

Primary Source Collections

Historic Newspaper Databases

Searching the ProQuest Historical Newspapers databases