The Milwaukee Transgender Oral History Project was administered by the Archives Department of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries in order to fill a gap in the documentary record concerning the history of Milwaukee's transgender community. Dr. Brice Smith, author of "Yours in Liberation": Lou Sullivan and the Construction of FTM Identity, conducted interviews from January through May 2011.
The Milwaukee Transgender Oral History Project digital collection consists of eight oral history interviews concerning Milwaukee's trans community and its history. For your project, listen to one oral history (one interview) and use its content to guide your review of the publications available in Special Collections. The linked text below will take you to the digital collection:
Explore all eight oral histories online in the UWM Archives Digital Collections.
Information for the female-to-male crossdresser and transsexual by Lou Sullivan (1985) Call Number: HQ77. S85x 1985
Published in 1985 and authored by L. Sullivan, Information for the Female-to-Male Crossdresser and Transsexual is a handbook that provides general advice for those who identify along the female-to-male spectrum. Sullivan explains how one’s body might react to hormone therapy and also provides tips for “passing” as a man, such as how to dress more masculine. Additionally, Sullivan includes an extensive list of historical and fictional female-to-male crossdressers and transsexuals. Catalog Link.
Gemini Gender Group Journal (1995-1997) Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 G46x
The GGG is a South Eastern Wisconsin organization that serves the needs of trans and gender queer people of all identities and their loved ones. The Gemini Gender Group Journal covers trans issues in WI from the mid-late 1990s. Catalog Link.
The Primrose: Newsletter of the Chicago Gender Society (Mar 1997) Call Number: HQ77.95.U6.C45
This is a single issue of The Primrose from 1997 produced by a Chicago-area gender inclusively group. Catalog Link.
The Gemini Journal (1998-2004) Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 G46x
The GGG is a South Eastern Wisconsin organization that serves the needs of trans and gender queer people of all identities and their loved ones. The Gemini Gender Group Journal covers trans issues in WI, picking up where it's predecessor publication, Gemini Gender Group Journal, left off in 1997. Catalog link.
Transgender Tapestry (2004-2006) Call Number: HQ77.T37x
Transgender Tapesty magazine was published by the International Foundation for Gender Education based out of Waltham, MA. It is a publication by, for, and about all things trans, including crossdressing, transsexualism, intersexuality, FTM, MTF, butch, femme, drag kings and drag queens, androgyny, female and male impersonation, and more. In publication seeks to create a nuanced dialog about a wide range of gender topics, from medical and psychological care to family and partner issues, to film and book reviews, and much more. Catalog Link.
FORGE Forward ... Conference [conference program] (2007) Call Number: HQ77.9 .F67x
This conference program is for the first ever conference in the Midwest exploring issues among Female to Male (FTM) individuals . Participants and their Significant Others/Friends/Family/allies (SOFFA). FORGE is an organization that provides Milwaukee-based social support, education and resources for trans individuals and loved ones. Catalog Link.