UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Japonisme: Find scholarly sources

Search in Search@UW

Find articles, UW books, digital collections & media

A video tutorial on searching the library's catalog is available at the bottom of the page

Databases for Art History Research

JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.

Tip for EBSCO Databases: Search multiple EBSCO databases at once by clicking the "Choose databases" link above the search box. EBSCO databases include Art Full Text, Academic Search Complete, Humanities International Complete, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Anthropological Literature, Historical Abstracts, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials, and Index Islamicus (among others).

Art Full Text
Art Full Text covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, published by the Getty Research Institute, is a comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 2,500 US and foreign journals. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Literature is the most comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Produced by one of the world's foremost anthropology libraries, Anthropological Literature indexes entries at least two pages long in nearly 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These include articles, reports, commentaries and obituaries. Anthropological Literature online now covers articles published from the late 19th century to the present, including the complete contents of Anthropological Literature: An Index to Periodical Articles and Essays (published quarterly since 1979).
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials contains citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. Areas covered include Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts has article abstracts from over 2,000 journals, citation of books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes publications on all aspects of Islam, and the Muslim world including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists, and Muslims and contains indexing for over 3,400 titles. Over 3,000 journals are indexed in addition to conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. The database is a good starting point for historical or analytical studies of the world of Islam.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes citations from the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, and the Derwent Innovation Index. Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. Useful for: systematic reviews, Highly Cited papers, citation metrics
WorldCat
WorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.
Project Muse
Provides digital humanities and social sciences content with full text access to 350 journals and select full text access to ebooks. Limit to subscribed full text using the advanced search and selecting, "Only content I have access to". Why can't I access some of this content?

Find Full-Text Articles with LibKey Nomad (Browser Extension)

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that indicates the availability of full-text articles through the UWM Libraries or open access when you are searching the open web. LibKey Nomad works on publisher websites, PubMed, and Wikipedia to connect you to scholarly resources. If UWM does not have the full text, LibKey Nomad will route you to Search@UW with a link to a pre-filled InterLibrary Loan request.

To use LibKey Nomad:

Install the LibKey Nomad extension for your browser
Search for and select University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee from the list of institutions
- The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the top right of your browser window
Start your search
- The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the bottom left of your browser when you are on a page with resources available through UWM Libraries

Select Journals in Art History

American Art
American Art publishes innovative peer-reviewed scholarship on the history of art and related visual culture. The journal critically engages with the material and conceptual conditions of art and provides a forum for the expanding field of American art history. It welcomes scholarship on the role played by art in the ongoing transnational and transcultural formation of America as a contested geography, identity, and idea. Committed to rigorous inquiry, the journal presents a range of approaches to the production and consumption of art.
Archives of Asian Art
Archives of Asian Art is devoted to publishing new scholarship on the art and architecture of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia. Articles discuss premodern and contemporary visual arts, archaeology, architecture, and the history of collecting. To maintain a balanced representation of regions and types of art and to present a variety of scholarly perspectives, the editors encourage submissions in all areas of study related to Asian art and architecture.
Archives of American Art
The Archives of American Art Journal is the longest-running scholarly periodical devoted to the history of art in the United States. This peer-reviewed publication showcases new approaches to and out-of-the-box thinking about primary sources. All contributions must be appropriate for the journal's broad audience and engage in a substantial, meaningful way with the holdings of the Archives of American Art.
The Art Bulletin
The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions. From its founding in 1913, the journal has published, through rigorous peer review, scholarly articles and critical reviews of the highest quality in all areas and periods of the history of art. Articles take a variety of methodological approaches, from the historical to the theoretical.
Art History
Art History is an international, refereed journal that promotes world-class art-historical scholarship from across the globe. It publishes essays and critical reviews that foreground methodological self-reflexivity and highlights specific areas of concern and interest to the field through its special issue programme. It represents the diversity of the discipline at large and welcomes submissions from both established and emerging scholars. Art History stands at the forefront of disciplinary challenges and is a model of excellence for original and innovative research.
Art Journal
The mission of Art Journal, founded in 1941, is to provide a forum for scholarship and visual exploration in the visual arts; to be a unique voice in the field as a peer-reviewed, professionally mediated forum for the arts; to operate in the spaces between commercial publishing, academic presses, and artist presses; to be pedagogically useful by making links between theoretical issues and their use in teaching at the college and university levels; to explore relationships among diverse forms of art practice and production, as well as among art making, art history, visual studies, theory, and criticism; to give voice and publication opportunity to artists, art historians, and other writers in the arts; to be responsive to issues of the moment in the arts, both nationally and globally; to focus on topics related to twentieth- and twenty-first-century concerns; to promote dialogue and debate.
Oxford Art Journal
The Oxford Art Journal has an international reputation for publishing innovative critical work in art history, and has played a major role in recent rethinking of the discipline. It is committed to the political analysis of visual art and material representation from a variety of theoretical perspectives, and has carried work addressing themes from Antiquity to contemporary art practice. In addition it carries extended review of major contributions to the field.

How to Search@UW

Select Books from the Collection

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 by Benjamin, Thomas
ISBN: 9780028658438
Publication Date: 2006-08-25
The Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, including Europes overseas expansion into the Americas, Asia, Africa and the Pacific, beginning in the 15th century; the collapse of empires; race relations in decolonized regions; and current examples of continuing dependence by much of the developing world on Western nations (often former colonial powers themselves). In addition, a number of articles address the ideology and theories behind colonialism and imperialism, as well as the major and controversial issues at the core of the debate on colonialism and its consequences, such as Apartheid in South Africa, the Maji Mahi Revolt, and the Minas Gerais Conspiracy. The breadth and depth of coverage offered in this title will cover substantial geographic, historical, political, economic, social, and cultural history, providing an invaluable interdisciplinary tool.
With Commodore Perry to Japan: The Journal of William Speiden Jr., 1852-1855 by John A. Wolter; David A. Ranzan; John J. McDonough
ISBN: 9781612512389
Publication Date: 2013-11-15
With Commodore Perry to Japan offers a personable account of Commodore Perry's expedition to Japan through the eyes of a sixteen-year-old purser's clerk of the Mississippi. The National Historic Publications & Records Commission (NHPRC) -endorsed documentary edition provides excellent coverage of both the political mission of the Perry expedition - the opening of relations with Japan - and of the social history of a naval warship as well.
Since Meiji: perspectives on the Japanese visual arts, 1868-2000 by J. Thomas Rimer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780824834418
Publication Date: 2011-10-31
Since Meiji is the first sustained effort in English to discuss in any depth a time when Japan, eager to join in the larger cultural developments in Europe and the U.S., went through a visual revolution. Indeed, this study of the visual arts of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries suggests a fresh history of modern Japanese culture--one that until now has not been widely visible or thoroughly analyzed outside that country. In this extensive collection, which includes some 190 black-and-white and color reproductions, scholars from Japan, Europe, Australia, and America explore an impressive array of subjects: painting, sculpture, prints, fashion design, crafts, and gardens.
Hokusai by Edmond De Goncourt
ISBN: 9781844846528
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Katsushika Hokusai is without a doubt the most famous Japanese artist known in the Western world since the middle of the nineteenth century. Reflecting the artistic expression of an isolated civilisation, the works of Hokusai, one of the first Japanese artists to emerge in Europe, greatly influenced Impressionist and Post-Impressionist painters, such as Vincent van Gogh.
JapanAmerica : points of contact, 1876-1970 by Nancy E. Green (Editor); Christopher Reed (Editor); Neil Harris (Introduction by); Hina Hirayama; Alicia Volk; Bert Winther-Tamaki; Steve Ridgely
ISBN: 9781934260258
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Focusing on Japan’s place in major international exhibitions held in the Americas from 1876 onward, and finishing with a look at Japan’s first world’s fair held in Osaka in 1970, JapanAmerica explores the roles of art, design, and display in Japanese-American relations through a carefully selected group of objects, multimedia components, and original scholarship. Particularly important is the reexamination of the “Japan craze” itself, most often discussed in the context of decorative arts and interior decor. The duration of its popularity was surprisingly long-lived, attesting to the West’s thirst for novelty and its ability to adapt Japanese aesthetics to vastly different styles.
Looking East: Western artists and the allure of Japan by Helen Burnham (Text by); Sarah Thompson (Text by); Jane Braun (Text by)
ISBN: 9780878468102
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
A craze for all things Japanese in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries brought a correspondingly radical shift in Western art, dubbed Japonisme. Leading artists, including Vincent van Gogh and Claude Monet, were inspired by Japanese art and culture to create works of singular beauty. This lavishly illustrated publication explores an extraordinary moment of cross-cultural exchange by presenting a selection of major paintings, prints, drawings and decorative arts from the renowned collections of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.
Wright Sites by Joel Hoglund (Editor); Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy; Jack Quinan (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9781616895778
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Frank Lloyd Wright's groundbreaking designs, innovative construction techniques, and inviting interiors continue to astound and inspire generations of architects and nonarchitects alike. The only comprehensive collection of Wright-designed buildings open to the public in the United States and Japan, Wright Sites has been revised and expanded to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the architect's birth in June 1867.
Great Waves and Mountains: Perspectives and discoveries in collecting the arts of Japan by Natsu Oyobe (Editor); Allysa B. Peyton (Editor)
ISBN: 9781683402657
Publication Date: 2022-12-30
Illuminating the history of collecting Japanese art This richly illustrated volume addresses the history of collecting Japanese art and the factors that contributed to the growth of collections in North America following the Meiji Restoration in 1868. Art historians discuss the historical development of the Japanese aesthetic and examine questions of connoisseurship, authenticity, and controversial collectors and their current-day reception.