WGS 501: Gender and Imperialism: Historical Perspectives
This is the course guide for Carolyn Eichner's Fall 2025 course
Ask the WGS Librarian
Connecting from Off Campus
1. Sign in to your library account
How:
- Click on 'My Library Account' on the library homepage or click the 'Sign In' link in the upper right corner of your Search@UW search results.
- Follow the prompts to log-in and authenticate using your ePanther ID and password. This process is similar to logging in to PAWS or Canvas.
Why:
- Signing to your library account before linking to library content makes it easier for publishers and databases to verify that
- you are affiliated with UWM and
- you are authorized to access materials that the library pays for
2. Use 'Get It' Links in databases to access full-text sources
Accessing online sources through library databases can be complex. It is common to find articles in database search results that are summarized but incomplete. Clicking on a 'Get It' link will connect you to a different Library database that provides access to a full-text version of a source that you can read or download.
3. Set up the LibKey Nomad browser extension to connect to full-text outside of library search tools
-
Get the LibKey Nomad Browser ExtensionThis link will take you to a page where you can choose the LibKey extension for your browser (Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Mozilla Firefox are examples of browsers).
Campus Resources
-
UWM's Food PantryHours and availability of food resources for students as well as the steps for receiving the bagged food
-
UWM Emergency GrantThe UWM Emergency Grant helps students who have financial hardship cover expenses related to unforeseen emergencies that significantly impact their ability to be successful during the semester.
-
Student Health and Wellness ServicesConnect with medical care ( including Gynecology, STI screenings, and HRT), counseling services, immunization resources, and more. Health services are available to UWM students currently enrolled in classes for credit and who have paid the student segregated fee.