First-Year Bridge English
Finding Scholarly Articles in Library Databases
Search@UW searches for materials that we own in the library and some of our online materials like eBooks and scholarly articles.
We also have "subject-specific" databases that you can search to find articles, eBooks, stats, newspaper and magazine articles related to a specific subject area like Nursing, Psychology, or Business.
You can filter the A-Z Database list (linked below) to specific subject areas using the "Subject" drop-down menu.
-
A-Z DatabasesUse this link if you would like to search UWM's entire list of databases in alphabetical order.
General Starting Points
Below are some suggested databases that might be a good place to start. Many offer either overview reports of an issue or access to popular and scholarly articles for a variety of topics.
-
Gale In Context: Opposing ViewpointsOpposing Viewpoints provides contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most debated social issues. It includes continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
-
MasterFILE CompleteMasterFILE Complete contains popular magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
-
Gale In Context: Global IssuesGale In Context: Global Issues offers international viewpoints on global issues and current events. Access topic overviews, viewpoint articles, journal articles, primary sources and statistics.. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.
-
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete contains scholarly articles from peer-reviewed journals and other publications like eBooks, reports, conference proceedings, magazine articles, and more.
-
CQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher gives reports providing analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news. Topics covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
