Read an article about the real-life Iron Mountain Baby who inspired Bright Star, through one of our newspaper databases, and listen to a different ballad inspired by the story.
Rose is a beautiful and mysterious woman living at St. Elizabeth's home for unwed mothers in 1960s Kentucky. She has no intention of telling her mother or her husband about her pregnancy, until a healing spring near the home changes her mind.
Set in the 1940s. Following a family tragedy, siblings Lou and Oz must leave New York and adjust to life in the Virginia mountains--but just as the farm begins to feel like home, they'll have to defend it from a dark threat.
Featuring the work of twenty-five fiction writers and poets, this anthology is a captivating introduction to the finest of contemporary Appalachian literature.
Meredith Sue Willis's Out of the Mountains is a collection of thirteen short stories set in contemporary Appalachia. Firmly grounded in place, the stories voyage out into the conflicting cultural identities that native Appalachians experience as they balance mainstream and mountain identities.
This complete collection includes all the published stories of Eudora Welty. There are forty-one stories in all, including the earlier collections A Curtain of Green, The Wide Net, The Golden Apples, and The Bride of the Innisfallen, as well as previously uncollected stories. With a Preface written by the Author especially for this edition.
James Still (1906-2001) remains one of the most beloved and important writers of Appalachian literature. This collection includes his short fiction, much of it originally published in literary magazines
In 1957, Mary Alice was a rebellious teenager in love with a rich Yankee boy who had just moved to her small Virginia mountain town--much to the chagrin of her God-fearing mother, Lavinia. By 2004, Mary Alice has become a spinster biology teacher who hasn't spoken to her mother in over forty years. When Lavinia dies, Mary Alice's niece, Claire, inherits the family house and moves to Virginia, bringing along a deep curiosity about her family's dark past--and plenty of emotional baggage of her own.
Alternate ROOTS is one of the American South's oldest theatres. This collection brings together some of the best work of their seventeen-year history.
A troubled teenager and her estranged mother - an undocumented Mexican immigrant on the verge of deportation - embark on a road trip and strive to mend their frayed relationship along the way.
Six plays from a major talent of the American theatre, endowed with Linney's lyric intensity, and augmented by his rich sense of humour. In Childe Byron, the dying daughter of the notorious Lord Byron conjures a confrontation with the father she never knew. In 2, Linney scrutinizes Hitler's infamous second-in-command Hermann Goering, behind the scenes at the Nuremberg trials. Tennessee celebrates the indomitability of early Appalachian mountain settlers. Heathen Valley reveals the same region's citizens subsequent search for faith. In FM, an authentic genius stumbles into the creative writing course of a small Alabama college. Set among SoHo literati, April Snow is a compassionate study of a world-weary screenwriter.
Bluegrass-style musical based on the 1942 novella by Eudora Welty, with a Robin Hood-like hero in a late 18th-century American setting.
16 vocal selections from Roger Miller's bluegrass- and country-style Broadway score.
Piano/vocal arrangements of 15 songs from Bright Star.
CD of the original cast recording
The album that led to the creation of Bright Star, including an earlier version of "When you get to Asheville."
Blue Ridge tacos, kimchi with soup beans and cornbread, family stories hiding in cookbook marginalia, African American mountain gardens--this wide-ranging anthology considers all these and more.
Appalachian women have been the subject of song, story, and report for nearly two centuries. This fully annotated bibliography makes accessible this large body of literature, including novels, short stories, magazine articles, manuscripts, dissertations, surveys, and oral history tapes.
In Wayfaring Strangers, Fiona Ritchie and Doug Orr guide readers on a musical voyage across oceans, linking people and songs through centuries of adaptation and change. From ancient ballads at the heart of the tradition to instruments that express this dynamic music, Ritchie and Orr chronicle the details of an epic journey.
Though recognized and embraced internationally, bluegrass is one of only two musical genres native to America and, like jazz, it boasts a colorful and lively history, one that is captured here in all its detail complete with candid interviews with such legends as Earl Scruggs, Ralph Stanley, and the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band.
Reading Adoption explores the ways in which novels and plays portray adoption, probing the cultural fictions that these literary representations have perpetuated.
First Published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
