UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Dance 371: Dance Anatomy & Kinesiology: Home

Getting Started with Dance Anatomy Research

Dance research is interdisciplinary, drawing on methodologies from both health sciences and humanities research. For anatomy and kinesiology studies, you'll want to look at resources from health and exercise sciences. Below you'll find links to databases for those studies, as well as interactive anatomy resources and interdisciplinary databases.

Sports/Health Databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Full text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, dance, kinesiology and related topics.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Includes bibliographic information and some full text for journals related to nursing and allied health.
Alt HealthWatch
Full-text database focused on complementary, alternative, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Anatomy Resources

Library Resources (trial access)

Visible Body Suite
An interactive 3D anatomy tool. Includes a human anatomy atlas, comprehensive references for biological concepts and processes, and 3D physiology animations.

A personal account is required to use this resource. If you already have a Visible Body Courseware account, please use a different email address to create a Web Suite account.

Free online resources

NIH Anatomy & Physiology Modules
Study and training modules on anatomy and physiology from the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
BioDigital
Create a free student account to explore human anatomy in 3D and create custom models.
eSkeletons
eSkeletons is a globally accessible and open anatomy resource that provides comparative and interactive explorations of human, ape, monkey, lemur, and other primate skeletons.
Muscle Atlas
Imaging of major muscles and connection points throughout the human body.

Dance Research

Web of Science
Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly.
Humanities International Complete
Index and some full text for thousands of journals in arts & humanities fields.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large interdisciplinary database, including humanities, sciences, and social sciences as well as news and video resources.
JSTOR
Interdisciplinary full-text collection of journals and some eBooks. Searches the entire text of the article or book, not just the title and summary information. JSTOR often does not include the most recent few years of a journal, so make sure to try other databases, too.