Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the Keywords developed in the Develop Your Research Strategy to find resources using one of the good starting points listed.
Good Starting Points for Resources
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW-Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.
Off campus? Set Google Scholar to link to at UWM:
From the Google Scholar home page, click on the "Settings" gear on the top of the page.
- Select “Library Links” from the left column
- Search for “University of Wisconsin Milwaukee” and check the "UWM" box that appears
When you find a good article, click on the "Get IT! (UWM Libraries)" link - not the title