UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Flex: Library Resources for AAS Flex Students: Databases

Databases

A-Z Databases
Use this link if you would like to search UWM's entire list of databases in alphabetical order.
Databases by Subject Area

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
America: History & Life with Full Text Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index of articles in communication and mass media, communication sciences and disorders. It does include some full text.
Gale Academic OneFile Gale Academic OneFile indexes and provides selected full text for thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources across many academic disciplines. Subjects covered include the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and literature.
JSTOR Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 1,200 full-text newspapers and newswires, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window Large collection of US newspapers, many in full text, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires from the 1980s to the present (dates vary by title). Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. Part of Global Newsstream.
Web of Science Web of Science includes citations from the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, and the Derwent Innovation Index. Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. Useful For: systematic reviews, Highly Cited papers, citation metrics

LibKey Nomad

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes off-campus searching easier. While searching, you can quickly see which articles are available to you through UWM Libraries. LibKey Nomad works on publisher websites, PubMed, and even Wikipedia to connect you to scholarly resources. If UWM does not have the full text, LibKey Nomad will link you to Search@UW where you can make an InterLibrary Loan request.

LibKey Nomad connects you to resources while preserving your privacy. No personal account is needed, and LibKey Nomad does not track users or store your ID after you close your browser. When you click on a LibKey Nomad link, it will take you to UWM's ePanther login and then straight on to the full-text article. After you login once, you won't have to login again until you close your browser.

Getting Started

Install the LibKey Nomad extension on your browser
Search for and select University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee from the list of institutions
- The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the top right of your browser window
Start your search
- When you are on a page where you can download an article, the LibKey Nomad button will appear in the bottom left of your browser

Watch the video below to learn more and see how to install LibKey Nomad on your computer.

Still have questions?

Check out the LibKey Nomad Technical FAQ or contact UWM's LibKey administrator, Lynne Jones.

Google Scholar

Off campus? Set Google Scholar to link to at UWM:

From the Google Scholar home page
Click on the "Settings" gear on the top of the page
Select “Library Links” from the left column
Enter “University of Wisconsin Milwaukee” in search box
Check the "UWM" and “Open WorldCat” boxes that appear
Save!

Then search - when you find a good article -
Click on the (UWM Libraries) link - not the title