UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: ED POL 750 &amp; ED POL 850: Historical Framing

Historically Framing Your Topic

Historically Framing Your Topic
Downloadable Microsoft Word version of the images below

Learning to Do Historical Research: A Primer What Are the Documents?
An excellent introduction to historical research. Guides you through the process of imagining what kind of evidence may exist and finding the sources that do exist.

Primary sources are original material or data, while secondary sources are analyses, interpretations, or comments on the primary sources. Examples:

Primary	Secondary
Autobiographies	Books
Letters	Journal Articles
Photographs	Encyclopedias
Firsthand Accounts of Events	Dictionaries
Official Memoranda	Reviews
Laws and Treaties	Critical Essays

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid is a catalog of primary sources, archival finding aids, and special collections worldwide. Contains about two million archival material descriptions. Many of the historical records are available online.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1999)
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-2007) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post (1877-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.