Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBooks@UWM: Faculty &Staff - FAQ

A guide to finding and using eBooks from the UWM Libraries collections.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use eBooks in my classroom? 

If you think you would like to use an eBook for your course, check the availability and access of the title to ensure that students will be able to have access when they need to. Check if there is a limited loan period, limited number of usages of the title, and if the UWM libraries has access or if it needs to be requested.  This information is usually within the detailed record of the eBook title, depending upon the database. For best use, check that the eBook you select has Unlimited Access. 

How can I find out if this eBook can be used by more than one student at a time? 

Look for information within the record of the eBook title. Look for information such as: 'User Access' and 'Number of Copies Available at Your Institution' and 'eBook Availability'. The number of copies available could limit a student's access to the title for reading online and offline, unless the title has Unlimited Access

What is a Loan Period? 

'Checking Out' or 'Downloading' an eBook has unique requirements depending on the title and the eBook database. Read the parameters of a 'Full download' of the file and make sure that the eBook will be available to you when you need it.There may be specific information about a 'Checkout Period' or 'Download Allowances' meaning that your have access to the eBook as a file on your personal device for a limited period of time before the eBook disappears from your device. Another possibility is that the eBook you are attempting to access is 'Checked Out'. This is because there are sometimes only a certain number of usages associated with specific eBook titles. 

Which eBook platforms are best?

UWM Libraries has access to several different collections of eBooks some of which have specific specialties and focus, others are broader and have eBooks on a variety subjects. Visit eBooks Databases to read collection descriptions. Certain databases are better in terms of their usage and have unlimited availability of titles including the 'Free eBook Databases' .

Can I put eBooks on reserve?

No, because eBooks are available online, there is no need to put a specific book on reserve. Just make sure that the eBook that you have selected for your course has an appropriate number of spots available for your class. For more information, contact the Media and Reserve Library, 414-229-4673 or libmedia@uwm.edu.

Can I request eBooks? 

If the UWM Libraries does not have the specific title you are looking for, you can make a request using the Purchase Recommendation Form.

How much of an eBook can I print?

Printing and copying eBooks is usually restricted by a certain number of pages or percentage of the book. It depends on the title and eBook collection and is usually within the title's record. Look for: 'Pages Remaining for Copy', 'Print/Save' in the detailed record of the title you are interested in printing. 

Are there eBooks in multiple languages?

Yes, while searching most of the eBook databases you can narrow the results by language. 

What is the difference between reading online and reading offline?

Once you have located an eBook, you will be given two options for accessing the material: reading online, or reading offline. In order to read online you will likely have to create an account but not always. Reading online, you can navigate chapters, pages and search within the book. Reading offline usually requires downloading specific software for you device that will be specific to the eBook database and title you are using.

When will I have to create an account?

Not every database or collection will require you to create an account to read online or download eBooks. Those that do, simply follow the instructions for creating a login. This account is separate from your ePanther ID.

What is the EPUB format?

EPUB has become the industry standard format for delivering eBooks, because it enables publishers to create books that behave more like web content. EPUB titles are often embedded with links to help the user navigate between sections, from the index to the relevant pages, and out to the open web.

What is Adobe Digital Editions?

This free software is specifically for reading eBooks that are protected by Digital Rights Management. It is not the same as Adobe Reader or Adobe Acrobat and is necessary for opening the eBook file format: .ACSM

Research Help

Kristin Woodward's picture
Kristin Woodward
Contact:
P.O. Box 604, 2311 East Hartford Avenue
Milwaukee WI 53201-0604
(414) 229-6828

Specific Ebook Platform Information

Check out this tutorial about searching for ProQuest eBooks:

 

Check out this tutorial about reading ProQuest eBooks:

How to Check for an Unlimited Access ProQuest eBook?

If a eBook within the ProQuest eBook Central has Unlimited Access, it will state it at the top of the eBooks record. If it has a limit, it does not specify an exact number and will only state 'Institution has access to multiple copies'. You can search for titles that have Unlimited Access navigating to 'Advanced Search' and specifying the number of copies to be 'Unlimited'. 

Screenshot of ProQuest eBook Central database showing where in the record it will state if your institution has unlimited access.

 

For limited access titles, you may still save and use PDF chapters in your class. However, if you’d like to link to the title or make the title available for everyone to view online or download at the same time, you’ll want to make sure the title has an Unlimited User Access.

 
Can I link to ProQuest eBooks or eBook chapters in my syllabus or Canvas?

Yes, the 'Share Link to Book' feature for the eBook makes it easy to copy a link to an eBook or chapter and insert it into Canvas.

You can also download or link to specific chapters. Look here for more information.

Check out this tutorial about searching for EBSCO eBooks:

Check out this tutorial on how to read EBSCO eBooks:

 


How to Check for an Unlimited Access EBSCO eBook?

To check for an EBSCO eBook that includes Unlimited Access, find an eBook of interest and navigate to the Detailed Record.

Screenshot of Ebsco eBooks database showing where in the record it will state if your institution has unlimited or limited access.

The Detail Record contains the license information, displaying either Limited Access (1 or 3 copies available) or Unlimited Access.

For limited access titles, you may still save and use PDF chapters in your class. However, if you’d like to link to the title or make the title available for everyone to view online or download at the same time, you’ll want to make sure the title has an Unlimited User Access. (You can contact your librarian to expand the user rights for most titles).

Can I link to EBSCO eBooks or eBook chapters in my syllabus or Canvas?

Yes, the Permalink feature in the eBook Viewer makes it easy to copy a link to an eBook or chapter and insert it into Canvas.

To learn how to copy Permalinks in EBSCOhost, see How can I link to eBooks or eBook chapters in my syllabus or on Blackboard? on the EBSCO Support Site.