UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Music Browse Guides by Instrument: Voice

Voice Guide

Selected Bibliography of Literature and Repertoire Lists

Guide to the Latin American Art Song Repertoire, a: an Annotated Catalog of Twentieth-Century Art Songs for Voice and Piano by Maya Hoover (Editor)
ISBN: 1282539809
Publication Date: 2010-05-13
A reference guide to the vast array of art song literature and composers from Latin America, this book introduces the music of Latin America from a singer s perspective and provides a basis for research into the songs of this richly musical area of the world. The book is divided by country into 22 chapters, with each chapter containing an introductory essay on the music of the region, a catalog of art songs for that country, and a list of publishers. Some chapters include information on additional sources. Singers and teachers may use descriptive annotations (language, poet) or pedagogical annotations (range, tessitura) to determine which pieces are appropriate for their voices or programming needs, or those of their students. The guide will be a valuable resource for vocalists and researchers, however familiar they may be with this glorious repertoire."
Exploring Twentieth-Century Vocal Music by Sharon Mabry
ISBN: 1280481706
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
"Exploring Twentieth Century Vocal Music" is a people-centered book designed to aid singers and voice teachers to discover and decipher the inovative repertoire of the 20th century. The book familiarizes the reader with notation systems employed by some contemporary composers. It suggest rehearsal techniques and vocal exercises that will help singers prepare to tackle the repertoire and offers a list of the most important and interesting works to emerge, along with suggested recital programmes that will introduce audiences as well as singers to this body of music.

"Singing" In Grove Music Online

Library Resources for Singers, Coaches, and Accompanists by Ruthann McTyre
ISBN: 0313302669
Publication Date: 1998-07-23
Designed to aid the student, librarian, teacher, or professional singer, this annotated bibliography provides access to more than 500 books, journals, and electronic resources. Included as well are chapters listing dictionaries and encyclopedias for opera and musical theater, biographical sources, guides to vocal literature and repertoire, and resources for vocal pedagogy and for the stage. Equally helpful are sources that list plots and synopses, translations, diction, travel and education. Providing ready access to a variety of topics and resources necessary for vocal study, this important reference will introduce music students to reliable, essential sources for their study, assist teachers and coaches in finding reference tools, and assist reference librarians in locating sources for patrons. The alphabetical organization within subject makes this reference easy to understand and easy to access. Three indexes allow for convenient cross-referencing.
The Comprehensive Catalogue of Duet Literature for Female Voices by Marilyn Stephanie Mercedes Newman; Richard Lalli; Maurice Hinson
ISBN: 0810836475
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
Vocal chamber duets for female voice are some of the most beautiful and pedagogically useful vocal literature. Nevertheless, they are often overlooked because of difficulty procuring them. Many vocal catalogues do not specify duet literature, and existing catalogues and appendixes addressing duet literature are limited. This catalogue contains 8,800 entries representing over 2,000 composers. It enables interested parties to access titles and composers of works with information pertaining to specified voice parts and publisher. Works are accessible by composer and by title of work. They are also searchable through opus or piece number, voices specified, and accompaniment if other than piano. The catalogue also provides comments significant to each work, cross-reference tables that specify the voice types listed, and the language of the work. Appendixes list composers and publishers, and an Index of Song Titles makes all of the works easy to locate. The Catalogue provides singers, students, teachers, coaches, and accompanists with information that will help obtain specific chamber music duet literature for female voices. Music historians may also benefit from this volume which includes many composers who have contributed to this vast genre.
Songs for Bass Voice by Alan J. Ord
ISBN: 0810828979
Publication Date: 1994-08-01
The bass singer, with his range and tessitura at the bottom end of the scale, has unique difficulties finding suitable vocal music in his range. Most music is composed for medium or high voice and finding music for the bass voice or vocal music transposed into a key low enough for the bass to sing is often frustrating for the bass singer, his teacher, coach, and accompanist. This is particularly true of the young high school or college student or any bass that has not mastered his top notes. Additionally, the low bass (basso profondo) has even more difficulty finding appropriate repertory for his range. The user of this annotated guide will find not only a wealth of vocal literature for the young or inexperienced bass, but vocal repertoire for all levels from beginner to professional. A necessary addition to the collections of professors and teachers of singing, bass and bass-baritone singers, vocal coaches, and accompanists.
From Studio to Stage by Barbara M. Doscher; John Nix (Editor)
ISBN: 0810842394
Publication Date: 2002-06-03
The repertoire files of the late Dr. Barbara Doscher, in which she noted her tips, observations on each particular piece, and notes on how to best teach it, comprise a unique trove of wisdom unmatched by any other source. Laboriously transcribed and annotated by John Nix, one of Doscher's students, the notes are presented here as a companion volume to her best-selling text, The Functional Unity of the Singing Voice. Entries are divided by broad category (art song, arias, folk songs, oratorio, musicals, etc.) and are arranged by song title. Each entry includes author, poet or librettist, key(s) available, ranges (for each key), tessitura, difficulty level, voice types, comments, a summary of the text, and notes as to genre, language, and editions available. Five comprehensive indexes facilitate searching. As a guide to selecting vocal repertoire, this book's practical and sometimes colorful comments on each song or aria will assist the vocal instructor in matching the student's ability and range to the appropriate piece. This distillation of Barbara Doscher's many years of experience in the teaching studio is a necessary addition to any vocal instructor's collection, as well as a valuable resource for the individual singer.
Vocal Chamber Music by Virginia Dunlap; Barbara Winchester
ISBN: 0824090039
Publication Date: 1985-12-01
Songs for Young Singers by Arden J. Hopkin
ISBN: 0810840774
Publication Date: 2001-12-20
Songs for Young Singers, a careful review of more than 2,000 songs printed in over 70 anthologies, has been written to address the needs of choir directors and voice teachers of junior high and high school age students. Section I lists songs by title as well as the anthologies in which they are found. Teachers wishing to explore the works of a particular composer will turn to section II, where songs are listed by composer.
Dictionary of Opera and Song Themes by Harold Barlow; Sam Morgenstern (Compiled by)
ISBN: 0517525038
Publication Date: 1976-02-13
The Singer's Repertoire by Berton Coffin
Publication Date: 1960

Translations and IPA in the UWM Music Collection

The UWM Music Collection has a fairly extensive collection of libretti and song texts in translation and some with IPA. This is by no means a comprehensive list.

IPA and translation books are found in the ML 49 and ML 54 sections of the Music Collection.

What is IPA? IPA (International Phonetic Association) is an organization that studies the pronunciation of words. When IPA is used with lyrics, it instructs the singer how to pronounce the words even if the singer does not know the language fluently.

Translation with IPA

Bach, J.S. . Handbook to Bach's sacred cantata texts: an interlinear translation with reference guide to Biblical quotations and allusions. Translated by Melvin Unger.

(RMU) ML54 B15 C329 1996

Bach, J.S. The complete cantatas. Translated by Richard Stokes.

(RMU) ML53.8 B3 C3613 2004

Brahms, Johannes. Brahms' complete song texts. Translations by Beaumont Glass.

(RMU) ML54.6 B82 G52 1999

Janáček Opera Libretti: Translations and Pronounciation Vol. I: The Cunning Little Vixen. Translated by Timothy Cheek.

(RMU) ML49.J39 O62 2003 v.1

Janáček Opera Libretti: Translations and Pronounciation, Vol. II: Kát'a Kabanová. Translated by Timothy Cheek.

(RMU) ML49.J39 O62 2003 v.2

Mozart, Wolfgang A. The libretti of Mozart's completed operas: in two volumes. Translated by Nico Castel.

(RMU) ML49 M83 L53x 1997

A singer's guide to the songs of Joaquín Rodrigo. Translated by Draayer, Suzanne Rhodes.

(RMU) ML410.R632 D73 1999

Schubert's complete song texts in two volumes. Translated by Beaumont Glass.

(RMU) ML54.6. S39 G515 1996

Schumann's complete song texts. Translated by Beaumont Glass. 2002.

(RMU) ML54.6.S387 G52 2002

The Singer's Schumann. Translated by Thilo Reinhard. 1989.
ML54.6 S4 R413 1989

Smetena, Bedrich. The bartered bride = Prodaná nevěsta : performance guide with translations and pronunciation. Translated by Timothy Cheek. 2010.

ML410.S63 C5 2010

Richard Strauss' complete song texts. Translated by Beaumont Glass. 2004.
(RMU) ML54.6.S77x S6 2004

Hugo Wolf's complete song texts. Translated by Beaumont Glass. 2000.

(RMU) ML54.6.W64x G52 2000

Coffin, Berton. Phonetic Readings of songs and arias.

(RMU) MT883 p5 1982

Phillips, Lois. Lieder line by line, and word for word. 1996.

(RMU) ML54.6 .P55 L5 1996

Sobrer, Miguel and Edmon Colomer, eds. Singer's Anthology of 20th Century Spanish Songs.

ML54.6 S563x 1987

Translation without IPA

Bausano, William. Sacred Latin texts and English translations for the choral conductor and church musician: Propers of the Mass. 1998.

(RMU) ML54.8 .S23 1998

Coffin, Berton. Word by Word translations of songs and arias. 2 vols. 1966.

(RMU) ML54.6 W65

Fischer-Dieskau, Dietrich. The Fischer-Dieskau book of lieder : the original texts of over seven hundred and fifty songs. 1977.

(RMU) ML54.6 T4 1977

Jeffers, Ron. Translations and annotations of choral repertoire. 2 vols. 1988.

(RMU) ML54 J44x 1988

Johnson, Graham. A French Song Companion. 2000.

(RMU) ML54.6.J76 F74 2000

Lachmann, Karl. Des Minnesangs Frühling. 1977.

(RMU) ML54.6 L3x 1977

LeVan, Timothy. Masters of the French art song. 1991.

(RMU) ML54.6 M33 1991

LeVan, Timothy. Masters of the Italian art song. 1990.

(RMU) ML54.6 M34 1990

Miller, Philip R. The Ring of Words. 1973.

(RMU) ML54.6 M5 R5 1973

Miller, Philip, ed. German Lieder. 1990.

(RMU) ML 54.6 G275 1990

Paquin, Marie Therese. Dix cycles de lieder = Ten cycles of lieder : Beethoven, Brahms, Mahler, Schubert, Schumann. 1977.

(RMU) ML54.6 D58x

Sylvester, Richard D. Tchaikovsky's complete songs. 2002.

(RMU) ML54.6.C43x S9 2002

Periodicals

Finding Songs & Texts

Performance Anxiety

Inner Game of Music - Barry Green

Call Number: ML850 G73 1986

By the best-selling co-author of Inner Tennis, here's a book designed to help musicians overcome obstacles, help improve concentration, and reduce nervousness, allowing them to reach new levels of performing excellence and musical artistry.

A Soprano on Her Head - Eloise Ristad

Call Number: MT2 .R57

Eloise Ristad deals here with complex problems which torment and cripple so many of our most creative and talented people, and she does so with compassion, wisdom, and wit. The problem of stage fright, for instance, is a suffering of epidemic proportions in our society, and involves modalities of thought and projections that rob spontaneity and enthusiasm in artistic performance.

Stagefright: Letting it Work for You - Robert Triplett

Call Number: PN2071.P78 T74 1983

Written for a wide audience of professional performers, this book discusses the science of stagefright and how we can use anxiety to our benefit rather than letting it hinder our ability.

Coping with Music Performance Anxiety
Six Golden Rules for Conquering Performance Anxiety

Internet Resources

IPA Source
The largest online library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
National Association of Teachers of Singing
Online Opera Scores Prototype at Indiana University
Information on 475+ composers and 1250+ operas. Search by composer's name or opera title.
Opera Base
OperaGlass at Stanford
Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database
"Documents more than a half-century of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States"..."Traces performance programming from early live presentations on experimental TV stations, to contemporary productions released on broadcast television, various cable forms, and home video."
Timeline of Opera
More than 150 years of American opera, including premieres and other significant events.
U of Washington Aria and Art Song Index
U of Washington Pop Music Database

M1500 -M1508	Dramatic Music: Operas, Musicals, etc.
M1500	Operas--Full Scores
M1503	Operas--Vocal Scores and Piano
M1505	Operas--Excerpts--Full Scores
M1506	Operas--Excerpts--Arranged Accompaniment
M1528 - M1529.5	Duets, Trios, Etc. for Solo Voices
M1530 - M1546.5	Choruses With Orchestra or Other Ensemble
M1547 - M1600	Choruses, Part-songs, etc. With Accompaniment of Keyboard or Other Solo Instrument, or Unaccompanied
M1610	Cantatas, Choral Symphonies, etc. for Unaccompanied Chorus
M1611 - M1626	Songs for One Voice
M1619	Collections of Multiple Composers
M1620	Collections, One Composer
M1621	Individual Songs
M1627	National Songs
M1628 - M1677.8	United States
M2000 - M2007	Oratorios
M2010 - M2014	Services
M2018 - M2019.5	Masses, Requiems
M2020 - M2036	Duets, Trios, etc.
M2060 - M2101.5	Choruses, Cantatas, etc. With Orchestra or Other Ensemble
M2102 - M2114.8	Choruses, Part-songs, etc. With Accompaniment of Keyboard or Other Solo Instrument, or Unaccompanied
M2115 - M2146	Songs for One Voice
M2147 - M2188	Hymnals
M2147 - M2155.6	Liturgy and Ritual
M2161 - M2183	Roman Catholic
	Protestant
M2186 - M2187	Jewish

Music Browse Guides by Instrument

Suggested Subject Headings

Suggested Call Numbers for Shelf Browsing