The Digital Public Library of America strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. Contains materials from all the UW System Digital Collections, Recollection Wisconsin, the National Archives and Records Administration, University of California System, the Smithsonian, and the New York Public Library.
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
(414) 229-5402 | askarch@uwm.edu
The Archives Department includes primary sources on Milwaukee-area women's history. Our collections are particularly strong on women's secondary, post-secondary, and avocational education; social and welfare leadership; art and literary persons; nursing history; the everyday experiences (diaries and family papers); lesbian issues; and feminist organizations. Some notable collections include:
National Organization for Women. Milwaukee Chapter: Records. Milwaukee Mss 176.
Records of the Milwaukee (Wis.) chapter of NOW consisting of board minutes, bylaws, newsletters, and subject files concentrating on such issues as abortion and ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment. The collection also documents the Scott Enk case in which Enk charged the Milwaukee Chapter with sex discrimination in attempting to revoke Enk's membership. View finding aid.
Women's Coalition, Inc. Records. Milwaukee Mss 177.
Minutes, newsletters, miscellaneous print and near print materials of an umbrella group of women's organizations in Milwaukee (Wis.) whose activities included advocating for battered women, “Take Back the Night” rallies, running a women's crisis line, and fighting for other feminist goals. Their subject files concern topics such as women's health issues, the Equal Rights Amendment, sex role stereotyping, legal issues, and pornography. See especially issues of Common Ground newsletter in box 2, folder 1. View finding aid.
Lesbian Alliance of Metro Milwaukee Records, 1989-2013. UWM Manuscript Collection 289.
The Lesbian Alliance of Metro Milwaukee was founded in 1989 after the Milwaukee County Board recanted its resolution to honor Lesbian and Gay Pride Week. The issue was followed closely by some lesbians, who felt that the lesbian perspective was underrepresented in media coverage pertaining to this resolution, as well as in other issues pertaining to the lesbian and gay communities. As a result, a group of women decided to form a lesbian organization in Milwaukee. Since its founding, LAMM has been a vital force in Milwaukee, advocating for the rights of lesbians and for the empowerment of women, fostering networking among lesbian/gay groups, and serving as an information clearinghouse. Its focus includes membership services, such as programs and benefits; special events; fundraising; and public policy work, including election endorsements, campaign assistance, public relations, and political networking. View finding aid.
Women Against Rape Records, 1975-1993 UWM Manuscript Collection 352.
Minutes, correspondence, proposals, newsletters, news clippings, case files, print materials, and artifacts from Women Against Rape (WAR). WAR's activities included advocating for adult and child survivors of rape and sexual abuse, establishing an anti-rape unit in the Milwaukee Police Department (MPD), and educating professionals, children, and the public on sexual violence prevention and intervention. The bulk of the records date from 1979 to 1984. View finding aid.
(414) 229-4345 | libspecial@uwm.edu
Special Collections include American nursing history, art and architecture, aviation history, Civil War regimental histories, contemporary fine-press printing and the book arts, gay and lesbian study, Irish literature, Jewish studies, labor and radical movements, local small-press publishing, Native American literature, manuscript collections, printing and publishing history, social justice, UWM authors and Women’s Studies. Notable publications include:
The Digital Collections at the UWM Libraries include over 170,000 photographic images, maps, and books drawn from the collections of the American Geographical Society Library, the Archives, Special Collections, and the Curriculum Collection.