UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: A Guide to Health Sciences, Medical and Nursing Information: Health Statistics

General Health Statistics

American Hospital Directory
View hospital profiles from around the United States.
American Nursing Informatics Association
Promotes communication, education, and research in the nursing field.
Health and Medical Care Archive
Medical care data sets sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
Health: Statistical Resource on the Web from U. Michigan
Maintained by the University of Michigan Library, Government Documents Department
National Center for Health Care Statistics
A vast collection of health statistics from around the United States. Monitored by the CDC.
Wisconsin Environmental Public Health Tracking Program
The WI EPHT program focuses on monitoring conditions in the air, land and water for which a strong public health link is known or suspected. Query the system for tables of data on various public health topics.
more...less...
Topics include Asthma, Carcinogenic Emissions, Childhood Blood Lead, Criteria Air Pollutants, Carcinogenic Emissions, Heart Attacks, Public Drinking Water, and Reproductive Outcomes
Health Informatics
from National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)

Data Planet

The Data-Planet repository provides access to over 35 billion data points, 4.9 billion datasets, and 450+ source databases from 70+ data providers. A robust suite of visualization, search, and analysis tools are embedded, or data can be exported via multiple formats.

Sage Data
Provides access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators including data sets from the U.S. government, the International Monetary Fund, the World Trade Organization, the OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations, the world's stock exchanges, and Zillow. Offers customized graphing and mapping.

National Health Statistics

Data.gov
Data.gov is the open data repository for all government data and statistics.
CDC Center for National Statistics
The CDC's national center for health statistics pools information from surveys and more--including vital statistics--on all things related to disease control and prevention.
Historical Statistics of the United States (Millennial Edition Online)
The Historical Statistics of the United States provides detailed quantitative indicators from American History--including 37,339 data series in the current edition.
Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSRR)
Information about research datasets and instruments/indices employed in Health Services Research, Behavioral and Social Sciences and Public Health with links to PubMed.

International Data and Statistics

OECD Statistics
The Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) is a non-government, non-profit global organization that provides some statistics on international health indicators as a part of their larger mission to promote economic and social well-being on an international scale.
United Nations Data (UNData)
UNData brings in statistics from multiple databases from the United Nations into one single entry point to access national and international statistics.
Global Health Data Exchange
the world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data.

Milwaukee Information Portal

goMilwaukee (Milwaukee.gov)
Milwaukee General Health Data and Publications
Links to City of Milwaukee Health Department publications and data reporting.

Milwaukee Area Statistics

City of Milwaukee, Neighborhood Development Plans & Studies
Official city plans and area studies created by or for the Milwaukee Department of City Development.

Disease Statistics for Milwaukee County (SurvNet)
Charts providing numbers for all reportable communicable diseases in Milwaukee County for a given timeframe.
Food Establishment Inspection Reports (City of Milwaukee Health Department )
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUPnet )
HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
HRSA Data Warehouse (HDW) (Health Resources & Services Administration)
Explore, interact with, and export data through charts, maps, reports, analyzer and locator tools, data downloads and data services, widgets, and the data portal.
Lead Poisoning Prevention Data & Reports (Milwaukee City)
Milwaukee Health Report, 2013 (Center for Urban Population Health)
ZIPcode Level. Population-level measures of both socioeconomic status (SES) and health for each of Milwaukee's 29 ZIP codes.
State, Tribal, Local & Territorial Public Health Professionals Gateway
Wisconsin Death Report (by County and City)
Annual Wisconsin Death Report. Top 10 death rates; deaths by age, sex, and residential county or city.

CensusViewer for Milwaukee - map and data finder
User-friendly product based on Census and other open government data.
CityData.com
Statistical profiles of United States' cities, including: Real estate prices and sales trends, recent home sales, a home value estimator, hundreds of thousands of maps, satellite photos, demographic data (race, income, ancestries, education, employment), geographic data, state profiles, crime data, registered sex offenders, cost of living, housing, religions, businesses, local news links based on our exclusive technology, birthplaces of famous people, political contributions, city government finances, employment, weather, natural disasters, hospitals, schools and libraries.
Claritas: My Best Segments
Snapshots of demographic traits, lifestyles & behaviors by zip code.
more...less...
The ZIP Code Look-up feature is free but most other portions of the site are only available for a fee.
ESRI Zip Code Lookup Tool
Snapshots of socioeconomic, demographic & lifestyle characteristics by zip code.
more...less...
The ZIP Code Lookup tool is free but other portions of the site may only available for a fee.
HUD State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS)
Demographic and economic characteristics, employment, violent and property crime rates, city and suburban government finances, and more.