Skip to Main Content

Native Americans - Archives Dept.: Researching Native Americans in the Archives Department

This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on local Native American history. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching

Welcome!

Recommended Collections on Native Americans

You can find rich source material in the Archives regarding Native Americans in Wisconsin in the 20th century. Our strengths are in language instruction, education, and cultural organizations.

A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.

Searching

Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which pertain to Native Americans in Milwaukee. In the box below, search by keyword/s. This search box is already limited to the Archives Department's holdings. Note that these results will include some books that we hold here in the Archives, but most of the results will describe archival or manuscript collections.

Here are three examples of simple keyword searches.  Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords.

1. Indians of North America Milwaukee

2. Indian education

3. Native American

Note: "Indians of North America" is the official subject heading used in the UWM library catalog. Keyword searching, however, will also find other terms.

If your search doesn't produce relevant results, try again with different keywords, or contact us for help.

A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.

We write finding aids, or guides, for most of our collections. These guides explain the creator, contents and dates of the collection. This information is important to you when deciding if something is useful to your research. A finding aid also provides the information you will need to request and use a collection when you visit the Archives Dept.
 
All of our finding aids are included in Archival Resources in Wisconsin, a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide.
 
Search our finding aids by using the search boxes below. Be sure to select an operator (and, or or not) as appropriate, and then click on "Search." Then explore the links in the grey band that appears with each result. Note: this search is limited to our holdings at the Archives Department, UWM Libraries, which is also known as the Milwaukee Area Research Center.
 

 

Use Archivegrid to find archives and collections in your geographic area.




The Library of Congress has a wealth of digital collections, which you can search right from their homepage.  

If you're not sure where to start, you can also browse their collections by topic.

Subject Guide