Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections With Photographs
The Archives Dept. offers many photographs taken in many eras and of many subjects. They provide rich source material on different topics, as well provide examples of photographs as visual resources.
A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections containing photographic images, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this page, or by asking an archivist.
Carl Pieper Papers
Title: Carl G. Pieper Papers
Creator: Pieper, Carl G.
Call Number: UWM Mss 145
Abstract: Photographs originally organized into scrapbooks, documenting a man's experience with Base Hospital No. 22 in World War I.
UWM University Communications and Media Relations Photographs
Title: UW-Milwaukee University Communications & Media Relations Photographs
Creator: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. University Communications & Media Relations
Call Number: UWM AC 200
Abstract: Primarily images of UWM, used in publications.
UWM Photographic Services Records
Title: UW-Milwaukee Photographic Services Records
Creator: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Photographic Services
Call Number: UWM AC 6
Abstract: Images of people, activities, and buildings of UWM and predecessors.
Zoological Society of Milwaukee Records
Title: Zoological Society of Milwaukee County: Records
Creator: Zoological Society of Milwaukee County (Wis.)
Call Number: Milw Mss 204 and PH Milw Mss 204
Abstract: See Photographs series for publicity shots of animals and the zoo grounds.
Robert Eichelberg Papers
Title: Robert W. Eichelberg Papers
Creator: Eichelberg, Robert W.
Call Number: UWM Mss 228
Abstract: Images of trains and streetcars taken by an enthusiast and amateur railroad photographer.
Roman Kwasniewski Photographs
Title: Roman B.J. Kwasniewski Photographs
Creator: Kwasniewski, Roman B.J., 1886-1980
Call Number: UWM Mss 19
Abstract: Records of a south side photographer's studio, and including 5,000 prints.
James Murdoch Photographs
Title: James Blair Murdoch Photographs
Creator: Murdoch, James Blair
Call Number: UWM Mss 131
Abstract: Photographic records of a commercial photographer, many related to Milwaukee area businesses.
Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which include photographs.
Use the search box below, already limited to the Archives Dept.'s holdings. Note that the results will include some books on the subject, but more of them will describe archival or manuscript collections.
Here are three examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords:
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the link at "Photographs" in the Subject Headings section to locate more materials in the photographic format here in the UWM Libraries.
All of our finding aids are included in Archival Resources in Wisconsin
, a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide.
Use Archivegrid to find archives and collections in your geographic area.
The Library of Congress has a wealth of digital collections, which you can search right from their homepage.
If you're not sure where to start, you can also browse their collections by topic.