In the Archives Dept., we have a significant amount of primary sources for your study of local civil rights. Topical strengths of our collections include the history of school de/segregation, the fair housing movement (especially the marches and disturbances of 1967) and community and civic response to these struggles.
A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.
Search@UW: Keyword search for archival holdings at UWM (see Search@UW tab below for details)
Search Finding Aids: Keyword search for archives collections with finding aids - which include content lists and background information. NOTE: not all collections have a finding aid, so don't discount Search@UW!
Suggested Collections: Primary sources related to the local Civil Rights movement to get you started. Collection names link to the finding aids - March on Milwaukee is a full, open-source database of digital materials.
Search the UW system library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections that will contain primary sources. You can search by keyword/s in the box provided below. This search box pulls up results from the UWM Archives Department, the UWM Special Collections, and the Wisconsin Historical Society. Note that these results will include catalog records for books that we hold here in the Archives, but most of the results will describe archival or manuscript collections, which include documents, reports, photographs, et al.
Here are three examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords.
1. World War I Milwaukee
2. Communism Wisconsin
3. Civil Rights African Americans Milwaukee
If your search doesn't produce relevant results, try again with different keywords, or contact us for help.
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.
Use Archivegrid to find archives and collections in your geographic area.
The Library of Congress has a wealth of digital collections, which you can search right from their homepage.
If you're not sure where to start, you can also browse their collections by topic.