UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Patent Guide: Library Databases

Library Databases

SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is a research tool that identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan.
Registration is required before use and is only available for faculty, staff and students of UWM. See Research & Course Guides: Chemistry for more information.
Reaxys
Based on historic patents selected for Beilstein and Gmelin databases beginning in 1920, Reaxys has added patent data since 1976 from the major patent granting organizations, e.g., USPTO, WIPO, and EPO.

Google Patents
Approximately 7 million patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office. The site includes patent information and images. Patents can be downloaded in PDF format.
Lens
Full-text of more than 9 million patent documents from US, Europe, Australia and WIPO; their status and counterparts up to 70 countries; over 68 million DNA and protein sequences disclosed in patents.
Free Patents Online
This site allows for advanced search techniques such as word stemming, proximity searching, relevancy ranking and search term weighting. Also includes a new chemical search. Includes US, Europe, and Japan.
SureChEMBL (beta) Open Patent Data
Built upon the Claims Global Patent Database, a comprehensive international patent collection provided by IFI Claims. It has chemical structure searching of documents from the major patent sources: USPTO, EPO, WIPO, and the Japanese Patent Office.
ChemSpider
Patent data is sourced from Google Patents, and SureChem.