HIST/URB 971: Seminar on the History of American Urban Problems
Archives and Special Collections Overview
Primary Source Collections at the UWM Libraries
UWM Libraries houses an incredible variety of primary source collections available to UWM researchers (and anyone). Please use the contact information below to make an appointment before you visit.
Find hours for the American Geographical Society Library, Archives, and Special Collections listed on the Libraries' hours page.
UWM Archives
UWM Archives and Area Research Center
Contact: ASKARCH@UWM.EDU or Fill out the Ask an Archivist form
Location: Milwaukee Campus Library 3rd floor, West wing
Help with:
- Primary Research Support and Primary Source Literacy instruction
- History reference materials and vital statistics for Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha Counties
- University records and local manuscript collections
- WTMJ Footage
- Inter-archives loan requests
Digital Collections:
-
UWM Archives Digital Collections
Search digital collections from the UWM Archives, including collections focusing on Milwaukee and UWM.
UWM-Special Collections
UWM Special Collections
Contact: LIBSPECIAL@UWM.EDU
Location: Milwaukee Campus Library 4th Floor
Help With:
- Rare and unique printed and published materials (zines, pamphlets, ephemera)
- Rare books and illuminated manuscripts and art
- UWM Author's Collection and Morris Fromkin Memorial Lecture
- Primary source literacy instruction
Digital Collections:
-
UWM Libraries Special Collections Digital Collections
Digital collections from the UWM Libraries Special Collections including Milwaukee and Wisconsin historical content, Chinese scrolls and fan paintings, artists' books, Wisconsin Arts Projects of the WPA, and Yiddish-language posters.
American Geographical Society Library
American Geographical Society Library
Contact: AGSL@UWM.EDU
Location: Milwaukee Campus Library 3rd floor, East wing
Help With:
- Maps, atlases, and globes
- GIS Data and GIS Data Literacy Instruction
- Classical geography, arctic exploration and research, Western imperialism
- The American Geographical Society Archives
- Census data
- Primary Source Literacy Instruction
Digital Collections:
-
American Geographical Society Library Digital Collections
Photographs, maps, diaries, and documents from the American Geographical Society Library.
-
AGSL GeoDiscovery
AGSL GeoDiscovery is an online geoportal that provides discovery and access to geospatial data for American Geographical Society Library patrons including open and restricted data in AGSL collections as well as data harvested from the OpenGeoMetadata project.