UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: WAK HIS 204: Introduction to Public History: Primary Sources

Differentiate Between Primary and Secondary Sources

Primary vs. Secondary Sources - The video above explains the key characteristics, similarities, and differences of primary and secondary sources. This video provides you with the skills to determine if a source is a primary or secondary source. You will need to be able to complete this task for your midterm project, and potentially for future assignments.

Online Primary Sources

Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
UWM Digital Collections
Pulling from materials found in the UWM Archives, American Geographical Society Library, and Special Collections, explore over 40 Milwaukee-related primary source collections online.
UW–Digitized Collections
Example: https://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/cgi-bin/WI/WI-idx?type=header&id=WI.ShebChair1927
Example from University of Wisconsin Digital Collection
Wisconsin Historical Society Online
In addition to the collections at UWM, you have access to collections available online through the Wisconsin Historical Society website. Find primary sources and historical essays (secondary sources) about the history of Wisconsin.
Tip: For digitized primary sources, look in the box titled "Online Collections" on the center of the page.