Start to build a search strategy by determining search terms. Search terms or keywords can be people, events, theories, concepts, ideas, periods, movements, eras, places, techniques, media etc. Use terms that describe the concepts in the research question and their synonyms. You can consult a reference text, such as an encyclopedia, for additional background information and to identify additional terms. You can also look at the "subjects" listed in the "details" section of your Search@UW results for additional terms to try. You may have to test a few terms to see which terms retrieve the most relevant results.
For example, if you are interested in researching "houses of worship" designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, you can also try more specific terms like "church," "temple," "synagogue," or "chapel," or broader terms like "religious buildings."
AND includes both terms
Example: "Frank Lloyd Wright" AND "houses of worship"
OR includes either term
Example: "church" OR "synagogue"
NOT excludes term*
Example: "Frank Lloyd Wright" NOT "Taliesin"
*Note that NOT may exclude results with the term even if a result contains a search term you want included
Using database syntax can help you refine your search. For example using "double quotations" will narrow searches by searching only for that specific phrase rather than each individual term. Using truncation (*) can expand your search by expanding the scope of a single term.
| Symbol | Use | Function | Example |
| "..." | Double quotation marks | Searches exact phrase | "domestic architecture" |
| * | truncation | Adds none or more characters | art* searches art, arts, artist, artists, artistic, artesan, artful [but also articulate, article, etc] |
Different database platforms (i.e. EBSCO, ProQuest) may use different syntax. Review a more complete list of database syntax.
A search strategy (or search string) are the keywords, terms, and syntax used in your search. A typical search strategy includes 2-4 concepts, but may include more keywords.
For example, an initial search for information on churches designed by Frank Lloyd Wright could be:
"Frank Lloyd Wright" AND church
But you may want to expand your search to get results on all types of houses of worship designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. So instead you might try:
"Frank Lloyd Wright" AND (church* OR chapel* OR synagogue* OR temple*)