Find IIIF Images

Guides to finding IIIF resources
This is a brief guide to finding IIIF Manifest URLs from members of the IIIF community. These guides begin from a record page, so do not include how to search or view an individual record. Once you have a manifest URL you can use the How to use IIIF Resources and Viewers guide to open it in one of the many IIIF Viewers.

Find images in databases

JSTOR
Provides access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Contents include the Artstor image collection, archival and current scholarly journal content, and historical documents.

JSTOR IIIF URLs are formed by combining the jstor: prefix with the JSTOR content ID. For example, the image found at https://www.jstor.org/stable/community.18615405 has the content ID "community.18615405". In this example the resulting IIIF URL would be https://iiif.juncture-digital.org/jstor:community.18615405/manifest.json. The short-form IIIF URL for use in Juncture essays would be jstor:community.18615405

UWM Libraries Digital Collections
The Digital Collections at the UWM Libraries include over 180,000 photographic images, maps, and books drawn from the collections of the American Geographical Society Library, the Archives, Special Collections, and the Curriculum Collection.

How to get IIIF manifests from UWM Libraries Digital Collections:
- Navigate to the UWM Libraries Digital Collections site - https://uwm.edu/lib-collections/
- Locate the image you want to view. For example World 1452 from AGSL Digital Map Collection
- Find and click the Mirador Viewer icon at the top-right corner of the page. A new window will open.
- The address of the new window will be
  https://collections.lib.uwm.edu/digital/custom/mirador?manifest=https://collections.lib.uwm.edu/digital/iiif-info/agdm/538/manifest.json
- The highlighted part of the address will be the manifest of the corresponding item. Copy that part of the URL to use in a Mirador exhibit or for other purposes.
- For more information, please visit the CONTENTdm IIIF API reference page.

Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. It acts as a common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation, but you do not need to belong to one of those projects to use media hosted here. The repository is created and maintained not by paid archivists, but by volunteers. The scope of Commons is set out on the project scope pages.

Much of the content hosted by Wikimedia Commons is either public domain or available with an open Creative Commons license providing flexible reuse. Wikimedia Commons IIIF URLs are formed by combining the wc: prefix with the Wikimedia Commons file name. For example, the image found at https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Holy_SURP_Hovhannes_Church.jpg has the file name "Holy_SURP_Hovhannes_Church.jpg" (note that spaces in the file name are converted to underscores). In this example the resulting IIIF URL would be https://iiif.juncture-digital.org/wc:Holy_SURP_Hovhannes_Church.jpg/manifest.json. A short-form version of the URL with just the prefix and file name can be used in a Juncture essay, for instance - wc:Holy_SURP_Hovhannes_Church.jpg.

Smithsonian Institutes IIIF Guide

Internet Archive IIIF Guides
This guide covers both using IIIF to interact with Internet Archive items and using the Internet Archive as a IIIF enabled digital asset management system for your own items.

American Art Collections

Smithsonian American Art Museum
The Smithsonian American Art Museum, the nation’s first collection of American art, is an unparalleled record of the American experience.The collection captures the aspirations, character, and imagination of the American people throughout three centuries. The museum is the home to one of the largest and most inclusive collections of American art in the world. Its artworks reveal key aspects of America’s rich artistic and cultural history from the colonial period to today.
Whitney Museum of American Art
Explore the Whitney's collection of over 26,000 works, created by more than 3,900 American artists during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Amon Carter Museum of American Art
The Carter's collection celebrates the breadth and depth of American art, from early daguerreotypes to site-specific installations by contemporary artists. The Museum was founded around Amon G. Carter Sr.’s extensive collection of works by Frederic Remington and Charles M. Russell, but it has since expanded to encompass artworks by thousands of artists that display the creativity and complexity of American art.
Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art
Crystal Bridges’ permanent collection spans five centuries of American artworks from early American to the present and is always free to view. Crystal Bridges is committed to telling broad and inclusive stories by acquiring and showcasing the highest quality works by artists underrepresented in art history and conventional museum frameworks.
Heard Museum
The Billie Jane Baguley Library and Archives has an extensive collection of documentary and photographic works on American Indians with an emphasis on indigenous people in the Greater Southwest. The Digital Library represents a virtual selection from the archives, library and art collections.
Studio Museum in Harlem
The Studio Museum in Harlem’s permanent collection represents more than 700 artists, spans 200 years of history, and includes nearly 9,000 works of art. We are thrilled to be in the early stages of a long-term project to share our collection online and prompt a new era of exploration and presentation.