Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Women's History Collections
The Archives Department includes primary sources on Milwaukee-area women's history. Our collections are particularly strong on women's secondary, post-secondary, and avocational education; social and welfare leadership; art and literary persons; nursing history; the everyday experiences (diaries and family papers); lesbian issues; and feminist organizations.
A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.
Charlotte Russell Partridge and Miriam Frink Papers
Title: Charlotte Russell Partridge and Miriam Frink Papers
Creator: Partridge, Charlotte Russell; Frink, Miriam
Call Number: Milw Mss 167
Abstract: Papers of the co-founders of the Layton School of Art in Milwaukee.
Wisconsin Women Artists Interviews
Title: Archive of Wisconsin Women Artists Records Creator: Archive of Wisconsin Women Artists Call Number: UWM Mss 3 Abstract: Oral history interviews circa 1979 with female artists in the visual, literary, and performing arts.
Milwaukee-Downer College Records
Title: Milwaukee-Downer College Records
Creator: Milwaukee-Downer College
Call Number: Milw Mss L
Abstract: Records of this women's college and its predecessor institutions, Milwaukee College and Downer College.
NOW (Milwaukee Chapter) Records
Title: National Organization for Women. Milwaukee Chapter: Records
Creator: National Organization for Women. Milwaukee Chapter (Wis.)
Call Number: Milw Mss 176
Abstract: Records concentrating on such issues as abortion and the ERA.
Miriam Ben-Shalom Papers
Title: Miriam Ben-Shalom Papers
Creator: Ben-Shalom, Miriam
Call Number: UWM Mss 237
Abstract: Papers of the first gay or lesbian member of the United States military service to be reinstated after being discharged for sexual orientation.
Lizzie Black Kander Papers
Title: Lizzie Black Kander Papers
Creator: Kander, Simon, Mrs.
Call Number: Milw Mss DN
Abstract: Regarding social work among Russian Jewish immigrants in Milwaukee. She earned the sobriquet “the Jane Addams of Milwaukee.”
Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which provide sources on local women's history.
Use the search box below, already limited to the Archives Dept.'s holdings. Note that these results will include some books on the subject, but more of them will describe archival or manuscript collections. Find more details by reading the complete catalog record for each hit, and if the catalog record offers you the option "View finding aid," click that for more detail.
Here are four examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between key words.
1. women education
4. women politics
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.
All of our finding aids are included in Archival Resources in Wisconsin
, a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide.
Use Archivegrid to find archives and collections in your geographic area.
The Library of Congress has a wealth of digital collections, which you can search right from their homepage.
If you're not sure where to start, you can also browse their collections by topic.