Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Collections on Polish-Americans
In the Archives Dept., we have a significant amount of primary sources for your study of 19th and 20th-century Polish-Americans in the Milwaukee metro area. Our strengths are cultural and social organizations, businesses including the local press, and religion. Also, we have rich visual documentation of the lives of southside Polish Milwaukeeans in the Roman Kwasniewski photographs.
A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.
Kuryer Publishing Company Records and the Kuryer Polski Records
Title: Kuryer Publishing Company Records
Creator: Kuryer Publishing Company (Milwaukee, Wis.)
Call Number: UWM Mss 46/see also Milw Micro 29
Abstract: This company produced a Polish language newspaper in Milwaukee.
Roman Kwasniewski Photographs
Title: Roman B.J. Kwasniewski Photographs
Creator: Kwasniewski, Roman B.J., 1886-1980
Call Number: UWM Mss 19
Abtract: Images taken in Milwaukee's Polish-American community (Polonia) during the early 20th century.
Polish Fine Arts Club Records
Title: Polish Fine Arts Club Records
Creator: Polish Fine Arts Club (Milwaukee, Wis.)
Call Number: Milw Mss 63
Abstract: This group was founded in 1930 to disseminate Polish culture by performing and sponsoring plays, concerts, and operas.
Polanki, the Polish Women's Cultural Club of Milwaukee Records
Title: Polanki, the Polish Women's Cultural Club of Milwaukee Records
Creator: Polanki, the Polish Women's Cultural Club of Milwaukee
Call Number: Milw Mss 74
Abstract: A club organized in 1953 to create interest in Polish culture & tradition.
Polish National Alliance of the United States of North America Records
Title: Polish National Alliance of the United States of North America Records
Creator: Polish National Alliance of the United States of North America
Call Number: Milw Mss 82
Note: We also have the records to many of the PNA local branches.
Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which provide sources on the history of local Polish-American people and organizations.
Use the search box below, already limited to the Archives Dept.'s holdings. Note that these results will include some books on the subject, but more of them will describe archival or manuscript collections.
Here are four examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords.
1) Polish Americans Wisconsin
2) polish world war
3) polish music
4) polish press
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.
All of our finding aids are included in Archival Resources in Wisconsin
, a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide.
Use Archivegrid to find archives and collections in your geographic area.
The Library of Congress has a wealth of digital collections, which you can search right from their homepage.
If you're not sure where to start, you can also browse their collections by topic.