Researching Media History in the Archives - Media History - Archives Dept. - UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Recommended for Media History

The Archives Dept. includes many collections that can help you in research of local media history. Our strengths are editors and journalists, the local press club, local television news, and the ethnic newspaper press.

A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.

Milwaukee Journal Stations Records (a.k.a. WTMJ-TV News Film Archives)
Title: Milwaukee Journal Stations Records
Creator: Milwaukee Journal Stations
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss 203
Abstract: Local news footage and special reports, dating from 1950 to 1980.
Records of the Henry W. Maier Administration
Title: Milwaukee (Wis.). Mayor: Records of the Henry W. Maier Administration
Creator: Maier, Henry W.
Call Number: Milwaukee Series 44
Abstract: See subject files for the Mayor's relationship with the media, including disputes with the Milwaukee Journal newspaper.
Joseph William Shoquist Papers
Title: Joseph William Shoquist Papers
Creator: Shoquist, Joseph William, 1925-
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss 145
Abstract: Papers, mainly dating from 1964 to 1985, of the managing editor of the Milwaukee Journal.
Kuryer Publishing Company Records
Title: Kuryer Publishing Company Records
Creator: Kuryer Publishing Company
Call Number: UWM Manuscript Collection 46
Abstract: Records of the Kuryer Publishing Company that printed the Polish language daily newspaper, Kuryer Polski.
Scott Feldmeyer Papers
Title: Scott Feldmeyer Papers
Creator: Feldmeyer, Scott, 1953-2000
Call Number: UWM Manuscript Collection 195
Abstract: Papers documenting Feldmeyer's work as a reporter in the Milwaukee area in the 1980s and 1990s.

Searching

Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which pertain to local media and journalism. In the box below, search by keyword/s. This search box is already limited to the Archives Department's holdings. Note that these results will include some books that we hold here in the Archives, but most of the results will describe archival or manuscript collections.

Here are four examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operators and is not necessary between keywords.

1. journalism

2. journalist

3. radio television

4. mass communication

If your search doesn't produce relevant hits, try again with different keywords, or contact us for help.

A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.

We write finding aids, or guides, for most of our collections. These guides explain the creator, contents and dates of the collection. This information is important to you when deciding if something is useful to your research. A finding aid also provides the information you will need to request and use a collection when you visit the Archives Dept.

All of our finding aids are included in Archival Resources in Wisconsin, a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide.

Search our finding aids by using the search boxes below. Be sure to select an operator (and, or or not) as appropriate, and then click on "Search." Then explore the links in the grey band that appears with each result. Note: this search is limited to our holdings here at the Archives Department, UWM Libraries, which is also known as Milwaukee Area Research Center.