Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Collections on Latina and Latino History
In the Archives Dept., we provide access to many collections that are helpful for research of recent Latinx local history. Topical strengths of our collections include education and civil rights, especially the rights of migrant workers.
A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.
UWM's Spanish Speaking Outreach Institute Records
Title: UW-Milwaukee Spanish Speaking Outreach Institute Records
Creator: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Spanish Speaking Outreach Institute
Call Number: UWM Archival Collection 116
Abstract: Records dating from 1970 up to 1999.
Tony Baez Papers
Title: Tony Baez Papers
Creator: Baez, Tony, 1948-
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss 8
Abstract: Papers of a leader of Milwaukee's Hispanic community from 1970 to 1979.
Milwaukee Mexican-Americans Interviews
Title: Arnoldo Sevilla: Milwaukee Mexican-Americans Interviews
Creator: Sevilla, Arnoldo
Call Number: Tape 829A; Tape 852A-Tape 861A
Abstract: Interviews with eleven people on the history of Mexican-Americans in Milwaukee. In Spanish and English.
Milwaukee Journal Stations Records (a.k.a. WTMJ-TV News Film Archives)
Title: Milwaukee Journal Stations Records
Call number: Milwaukee Mss 203
Abstract: Footage includes: Jesus Salas on migrant rights in 1966 and 1967; UWM students take over Chancellor's Office in 1970; Cuban refugees in Milwaukee in 1962.
David Berger Papers
Title: David G. Berger Papers
Creator: Berger, David G., 1946-.
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss 96
Abstract: Legislative papers of a Democrat from Milwaukee. See files on Bureau of Migrant and Rural Services.
Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which pertain to the local Latina/o community. In the box below, search by keyword/s. This search box is already limited to the Archives Department's holdings. Note that these results will include some books that we hold here in the Archives, but most of the results will describe archival or manuscript collections.
Here are five examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords.
1. Hispanic Americans
2. Spanish speaking
3. Puerto Ricans
If your search doesn't produce relevant results, try again with different keywords, or contact us for help.
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.
All of our finding aids are included in Archival Resources in Wisconsin
, a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide.
Use Archivegrid to find archives and collections in your geographic area.
The Library of Congress has a wealth of digital collections, which you can search right from their homepage.
If you're not sure where to start, you can also browse their collections by topic.
On Latina/o activism at UW-Milwaukee