UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Anthropology 424: Ethnoarchaeology and Experimental Archaeology: Find Scholarly Sources

Search@UW Search Bar

Search in Search@UW

Find articles, UW books, digital collections & media

[Advanced Search]

A video tutorial on searching the library's catalog is available at the bottom of the page

Databases for Research in Archaeology

Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Literature is the most comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Produced by one of the world's foremost anthropology libraries, Anthropological Literature indexes entries at least two pages long in nearly 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These include articles, reports, commentaries and obituaries. Anthropological Literature online now covers articles published from the late 19th century to the present, including the complete contents of Anthropological Literature: An Index to Periodical Articles and Essays (published quarterly since 1979).
Web of Science
Web of Science includes citations from the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Zoological Record, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, and the Derwent Innovation Index. Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. Useful For: systematic reviews, Highly Cited papers, citation metrics
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life, including books, journal articles, manuscripts, reports, and dissertations on world cultures. The eHRAF database is organized by cultures and ethnic groups, and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.

Archaeology Journals

Find more archaeology journals in Browzine.

Journal of Archaeological Research
Brings out the international research summaries on a broad range of topics and geographical areas.
Journal of Archaeological Science
Directed to archaeologists and scientists with particular interests in advances in the application of the scientific techniques and methodologies to all areas of archeology.
Journal of Archaeological Method and Theory
Presents original articles that critically assess and integrate research on a specific subject in archaeological method and theory, including topics in the history of archaeology, significant explorations, and relevant case studies.
Journal of Anthropological Archaeology
Features articles devoted to the development of theory and methodology for the systematic and rigorous understanding of the organization, operation, and evolution of human societies.
Archaeometry
Covers the application of the physical and biological sciences to archaeology and the history of art.
Journal of Field Archaeology
Publishes articles that deal with reports of field excavation and survey the world over, as well as studies of methodological and technical matters, scientific advances in archaeology, and larger interpretive studies.
International Journal of Osteoarchaeology
Deals with all aspects of the study of animal and human bones.
EXARC Journal Index
The EXARC Journal is published as an online Journal (open access) four times a year. Each issue contains about 10-25 articles (more new articles in the last years). The EXARC JOURNAL is the leading journal for those involved in experimental archaeology, archaeological open-air museum, ancient & traditional technology as well as interpretation & education. It features the latest developments in fieldwork, academic research, museum studies, and living history interpretation.
Journal of World Prehistory
The Journal of World Prehistory is an international forum for the publication of peer-reviewed original articles that synthesize the prehistory of an area or of a time-horizon within a larger region, or describe technical advances of wide and general application. These overview papers provide in-depth, thoughtful development of data and concepts in a fashion accessible to all archaeologists.
Current Anthropology
Established more than sixty years ago, Current Anthropology is the leading broad-based journal in the field. It seeks to publish the best theoretical and empirical research across all subfields of the discipline, ranging from the origins of the human species to the interpretation of the complexities of modern life.
Journal of Island and Coastal Archaeology
Publishes on archaeology and historical ecology of islands and other coastal settings, including syntheses, methods and theory, and history and human impact.
American Antiquity
Publishes original articles on the archaeology of the New World and related topics, along with research reports and commentary.
World Archaeology
Provides a broad geographic cover on archaeological topics ranging from monuments, arid environments and public health to crafts and chronology.
Antiquity
Provides reports on work in archaeology.
Geoarchaeology
Features original reports on the environmental settings of archaeological sites, materials analysis of artifacts, and process papers describing new techniques and equipment.